Valuable NHL Picks for Tuesday Night

David Lawrence

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 2:13 PM GMT

Tuesday, Mar. 11, 2014 2:13 PM GMT

Rich Peverley collapse on the bench and the Columbus Blue Jackets-Dallas Stars game get postponed, let’s hope that Tuesday night is far more normal. Here’s a look at our picks from the nine-game card.

2013-14 NHL Stanley Cup Betting Futures

Detroit Red Wings vs. Columbus Blue Jackets

The price has really come down on the Columbus Blue Jackets to the point where I think they’re worth a look on Tuesday night. The Blue Jackets were laying -140 on the NHL odds earlier in the day but now I see it at about -122 at Pinnacle, which to me makes far more sense.

Take a closer look at how both teams have been playing, the Blue Jackets have been the better team. They’ve won three of four while the Red Wings have lost three of four. The Blue Jackets have also won three of four in this series and goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky has a 1.84 GAA in his last four starts against the Red Wings.

At -140, I probably would have passed. At -122, the Blue Jackets are the right pick for your sports picks.

Hockey Pick: Blue Jackets -122 at Pinnacle

[gameodds]7/258155/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

Dallas Stars vs. St. Louis Blues

I’m going to continue to roll with the St. Louis Blues but this time, I’m going to add the puck line to my NHL picks. The Blues have been on a hot streak as they’ve won five in a row (since acquiring Ryan Miller) and have given up just 10 goals in their last seven games. As a matter of fact, they haven’t allowed more than two goals in any of those contests.

The Blues are absolutely fantastic inside their division as they’ve won 18 of 19 contests so far this season. They are also 7-0 after playing three straight road games and are 22-7 against teams with a losing record. The Stars just 15-19 against winning teams and are 9-12 on the road with a total of 5.5.

The Stars also have to bounce back from a rough situation on Monday when one of their players (Rich Peverley) collapsed on the bench. Their game against Columbus was postponed and they now have to rebound from that on short notice. This looks like a tall order for them, so I’ll look for the Blues to take care of business and win by two for our free hockey picks.

Hockey Pick: Blues -1.5 +140 at WillHill

[gameodds]7/258158/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

New Jersey Devils vs. Philadelphia Flyers

I’m going to lay some juice with the Flyers in this spot for a couple of reasons: they’re the better team and New Jersey struggles on the road. The Flyers are coming off an overtime loss in Toronto but have won seven of their last nine games. As for the Devils, they are just 6-7 in their last 13.

Taking a look at the home-ice advantage, New Jersey could have some trouble as they haven’t played well on the road. They’ve dropped eight of 11 away from home while the Flyers have won five of six at home.

Hockey Pick: Flyers -135 at Bovada

[gameodds]7/258153/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

comment here