Thursday Hockey Picks of the Day

David Lawrence

Thursday, April 3, 2014 11:44 AM GMT

Thursday, Apr. 3, 2014 11:44 AM GMT

Thursday is an action-packed evening in the NHL with nine games on the schedule. We’ve got five covered with our sports picks including three below. For more picks, check out our previews of the San Jose-Los Angeles and Pittsburgh-Winnipeg contests.

Dallas Stars vs. Carolina Hurricanes
The Stars are on a roll right now as they make a push for the playoffs. They’ve won five of six thanks in part to an offense that’s working like a well-oiled machine. The Stars have 16 goals in their last three games.

Carolina is a so-so team these days, notching just four wins in their last 10 games. They don’t have a strong home-ice advantage, going 17-21 at home while dropping three straight in front of their own audience. I’ll take a shot with the Stars for my hockey picks.

Hockey Pick: Stars -110 at BetOnline

[gameodds]7/260888/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

Buffalo Sabres vs. St. Louis Blues
The Blues are a -400 favorite on the NHL odds, which is one of the biggest moneylines you’ll ever see in the NHL. It’s fairly simple: they’re the best team in the league and the Sabres the worst.

I like the under in this game for my sports picks as the Sabres have just 18 goals in their last 13 games while the Blues are airtight defensively, giving up just eight goals in their last five games.

Hockey Pick: Under 5 at 5Dimes

[gameodds]7/260892/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

Columbus Blue Jackets vs. Philadelphia Flyers
The Blue Jackets have been playing a lot of low-scoring affairs recently for a couple of reasons: their offense is struggling but their defense is holding up. That’s led to an average combined score of 4.1 goals in their last nine games.

Although they are facing the high-scoring Flyers on Thursday, I think we’ll see another under here. Both teams swapped goaltenders before last season and both goalies have played well this year. I expect both to show up and play well against their former teams.

Hockey Pick: Under 5.5 at Bodog

[gameodds]7/260887/?r3=43-19-349/dec&r-1=43-19-349/us[/gameodds]

comment here