What Time Does Khabib vs. McGregor Start? UFC 229 Fight Card, Props and Picks

Thursday, October 4, 2018 6:36 PM UTC

Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018 6:36 PM UTC

Spend all day Saturday betting on college football at SBR's top-rated sportsbooks, but that's just a warm-up to arguably the biggest MMA event ever: Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Conor McGregor at UFC 229. 

<h1>What Time Does <a href="https://www.sportsbookreview.com/betting-odds/ufc/conor-mcgregor-vs-khabib-nurmagomedov-3536382/odds/" rel="nofollow">Khabib vs. McGregor </a>Start?</h1><p>The record for most pay-per-view buys for a UFC fight is 1.6 million for the Conor McGregor-Nate Diaz rematch at UFC 202 in August 2016, which McGregor won by majority decision -- only his second decision win among 21 career victories. McGregor then fought three months later at UFC 205 and beat Eddie Alvarez to add the lightweight title to his featherweight belt. The Irishman was the first in the UFC to hold two belts simultaneously.</p><p>McGregor returns to the Octagon -- since stripped of both title -- for the first time since on Saturday night in Las Vegas for a mega-clash against current lightweight champ Khabib Nurmagomedov. This fight will shatter all PPV records for mixed martial arts, although it will fall well short of the 4.3 million buys that McGregor vs. Floyd Mayweather drew last year.</p><h2>What You Need To Know About UFC 229</h2><p>Date: Saturday, 10 p.m. ET main card start time; Khabib-McGregor around midnight ET</p><p>Venue: T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas</p><p>Why Pick Khabib? <a href="https://www.sportsbookreview.com/picks/more-sports/why-pick-khabib-pounding-mc-gregor-can-lift-odds-favorite-in-ufc-229/86906/" rel="nofollow"><strong>Click here</strong></a></p><p>Why Pick McGregor? <a href="https://www.sportsbookreview.com/picks/more-sports/why-pick-mc-gregor-boxing-key-for-odds-underdog-in-ufc-229-vs-khabib/86905/" rel="nofollow"><strong>Click here</strong></a></p><p style="text-align:center">[/]{"component":"video", "type":"youtube", "url":"https://www.youtube.com/embed/t-K7Xlk2LQw", "videoSize":"Large" }[/]</p><h3>Fight Card Props &amp; More</h3><p>UFC President Dana White is projecting there will be more than 3 million pay-per-view buys for Saturday's UFC 229 fight between the unbeaten Khabib and McGregor.</p><p>What, you don't know what we're talking about? Crawl back under your rock.</p><p>White is giving most of the credit for the boon in PPV buys to McGregor because he's "notorious" and so full of, uhh, spit and vinegar. Wink, wink.</p><p>"Conor is so big and famous and people love watching him fight," White told ESPN.</p><p>The hype could blow the top off the T-Mobile Arena and you can expect to hear a lot of it at the pre-fight news conference streaming Friday at 11:30 p.m. ET.</p><p>Hell, these two have been talking smack at each other for months, and McGregor got into a heap of trouble in April when he threw a steel dolly through the window of a bus Khabib was in.</p><p>Unfortunately, neither a steel dolly nor a bus play a role in any of the prop bets attached to this fight, but there are enough to make the fight more interesting to watch -- if that's even possible.</p><p><a href="https://www.sportsbookreview.com/best-sportsbooks/" name="Top-Rated Sportsbooks" rel="nofollow">Take a look at BetOnline, Bovada and Paddy Power</a> for some opportunities that might offset the money you've put out for the PPV, beer and Flamin' Hot Cheetos.</p><p>For example:</p><ul> <li>Who is going to bleed first? Khabib (-155) is favored to show blood first because of McGregor's (+110) blood thirst, we figure. But by the end, they both could be a bloody mess.</li> <li>Will they touch gloves at the start of Round 1? Even Yes, -140 No. Personally, we think it's more likely a glove will hit a face before the start of Round 1, just sayin'.</li> <li>Will Joe Rogan at the post-fight Octagon interview wear Khabib's papakha? -160 Yes or +120 No. If he's smart, Joe won't touch Khabib's furry lid.</li> <li>How many F-bombs will McGregor drop at the post-fight Octagon interview. Odds are -110 over 2 1/2 F-bombs and -130, under 2 1/2 F-bombs. And just what is half of an F-bomb -- an F?</li> <li>Will McGregor tout his whiskey brand Proper Twelve at post-fight news conference? +140 Yes, -180 No. This may depend on how the fight goes, we think.</li> <li>Will McGregor do the Billionare Strut? -300 Yes, +200 No. If McGregor is still standing he'll be strutting alright.</li></ul><p>The bottom line is that the fight is going to be ferocious, and, of course by just typing that we've jinxed it to end in the middle of round 1. Sorry.</p><p>The event begins at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. in Las Vegas). Expect the main event to start 3 hours later. We’ll do the math for you: 3 a.m. in London, 10 p.m. in New York City, 9 p.m. Chicago, 7 p.m. Las Vegas and Los Angeles, 1 p.m. Sydney, 11 a.m. Tokyo and 5 a.m. Moscow.</p><p>So, pace yourself. There are 11 preliminary fights and you don’t want to <a data-auth="NotApplicable" href="https://www.ufc.tv/video/ufc-229" rel="noopener noreferrer" target="_blank">drop $65 to $100 on the pay-per-view</a> to snore your way the big fight.</p><p>Fight fans in the United States can gain access to the UCF 229 preliminaries on the UFC’s official streaming network: FX and UFC Fight Pass. The pay-per-view event also will be carried on several cable carriers including UFC TV, Prime Video pay-per-view, and AT&amp;T U-verse.</p><p><a data-auth="NotApplicable" href="http://www.ufc.com/schedule/fightpassevents" rel="noopener noreferrer" target="_blank">Check out the up-to-date list at the UFC website.</a></p>
comment here