Sparks Are Pick to Repeat as WNBA Champions

Kevin Stott

Tuesday, May 16, 2017 1:34 PM UTC

Tuesday, May. 16, 2017 1:34 PM UTC

The 2017 WNBA Regular Season tipped off this past weekend. Let’s look at Futures odds and make a pick for the WNBA championship, which still seems to be a two-team race despite Epiphany Price and the Liberty and the Mystics getting star Elena Delle Donne in a trade with the Chicago Sky.

WNBA Championship Futures Odds

The 2017 WNBA season tipped off Saturday and the 12-team league will play a 34-game Regular Season schedule over the coming Spring and Summer months. One new name in the league is the Dallas Wings (23/1 to win WNBA Championship, The Wings aren’t an expansion franchise but an organization that played in the league from 2010-2015 as the Tulsa Shock, and before that, as the Detroit Shock from 1998-2009, winning WNBA titles in 2003, 2006 and 2008 under Head Coach and former NBA player Bill Laimbeer.

When contemplating a bet in this niche market, remember that seven of the past eight WNBA Championship winners have come from the Western Conference, with only Tamika Catchings and the Indiana Fever (2012) slowing the west’s flow in women’s professional basketball in the US over that span.


Shyenise Johnson and the Fever (0-1 SU, 1-0 ATS) lost in Seattle in their opener, but did barely cover ATS as 5½-point underdogs (BookMaker) on Sunday, 87-82. Indiana will be in Phoenix Wednesday, where it will face Diana Taurasi and the Mercury (0-1 SU, 0-1 ATS), who lost 68-58 -- as 8-point favorites (BetOnline) to the Wings as Brittney Griner had 18 for the hosts who saw two first-round picks from South Carolina, Kaela Davis and Allisha Gray, combine for 31 points to help Dallas (1-0 SU, 1-0 ATS) to the win at Talking Stick Resort Arena in The Valley Of The Sun on Sunday. Thirty-four-year-old WNBA legend Taurasi was 1-for-11 for 3 points (1-9 3s) in 30 minutes of play for Phoenix, which has 10 new players on its Roster.


On Thursday night at Madison Square Garden in New York City in a big early-season matchup, Tina Charles and the Liberty host to Maya Moore and the Lynx in a big test for the visitors and oddsmakers' co-favorites in The Big Apple (ESPN2, 7 pm ET). Here are current WNBA Championship odds from online sportsbook, which will close this market at 10 p.m. EDT on Wednesday The The 2017 WNBA All-Star Game will be played on July 22 at Key Arena in Seattle with the Regular Season ending Sept. 3 with the WNBA Playoffs beginning Sept. 7. All-Stars Moore, Sylvia Fowles and the Lynx (2/1 to win WNBA Championship, have won WNBA titles in the L3 odd-numbered years (2011, 2013, 2015).

Minnesota Lynx +200

Los Angeles Sparks +200

New York Liberty +380

Washington Mystics +400

Phoenix Mercury +800

Seattle Storm +800

Indiana Fever +1200

Atlanta Dream +1800

Connecticut Sun +2300

Dallas Wings +2300

Chicago Sky +2500

San Antonio Silver Stars +3000


comment here