Soccer Picks: Serie A Odds and Predictions

Lee Benson

Friday, March 1, 2013 6:56 PM GMT

This weekend is all about the race for the Scudetto in Serie A as the top four all clash starting with leaders Juventus visiting second place Napoli this Friday evening under the lights of Stadio San Paolo in Naples.

Serie A Overview Week 27

Lazio, in third will visit AC Milan in fourth Saturday at the San Siro.

Last week saw the leaders stretch their lead as three of the top six drew with only Lazio winning to stay third and Fiorentina losing to allow all four of those chasing them to close the gap with Catania, Roma and Sampdoria all winning and Udinese holding Napoli.

At the bottom, Palermo at least earned a point drawing 0-0 with Genoa in 17th with Siena and Pescara both losing and remaining in the bottom three some five points from safety now. Bologna and Cagliari were the other big movers last weekend, both winning to move up to 14th and 12th respectively.

And so to the Week 27 match ups in Serie A as six of the top seven play one another and we look at where the best value odds and predictions are as I preview every game from this weekends action in Italy.    

Friday March 1st 2013

Napoli vs. Juventus

We have a full preview of this game at The Stadio San Paolo by regular contributing writer Mike Richardson and all his free odds, picks and predictions on this match, click here for his views and opinion as to where the best value lies in this game for all our bettors.

Home win for me at 21/10 a correct score prediction of 2-1 at 10/1 and a Napoli win and the over 2.5 at 18/5 all with William Hill

[gameodds]10/220016/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Saturday March 2nd 2013


AC Milan vs. Lazio

Two teams in good form but one of them resurgent in Milan and with just one loss in ten, that 2-1 at Juventus, and five wins in that time with the 2-0 defeat of Barcelona at the San Siro the pinnacle so far in a great 2013 so far. Lazio have the full house of won, drawn and lost two each of their last six but have won their last two, both 2-0 and like Milan are very much alive in Europe, the Europa League version in their case. This will be Milan's fourth game in a row at the San Siro having drawn 1-1 as the away team versus Inter last weekend. It is safe to say both sides have half an eye firmly on Europe right now, especially Milan though they have another game in Genoa before they try to finish the job against Barca on March 12th.

Home win for me at 8/13 and Mario Balotelli to score and AC Milan to win at 2/1 with bet365

[gameodds]10/220011/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Sunday March 3rd 2013

Torino vs. Palermo


Torino will feel that a win here and they are all but safe from relegation as they face basement club Palermo in the early game Sunday lunchtime. Palermo have drawn five of their last six to prove they still have the fight and the mentality to compete but one point a game is not enough and they last won a game way back on November 24th, some 14 matches ago. Torino have won two of six and like Lazio have the Full House their last six outings and lost a thriller 4-3 in Cagliari last weekend having led, trailed, equalised in stoppage time and still managed to lose!

Score draw for me at 11/5 and a 1-1 correct score prediction at 6/1 with William Hill

[gameodds]10/220015/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Bologna vs. Cagliari

The Stadio Renato Della`Ara in Bologna welcomes Cagliari this Sunday as the home of the most famous sauce in the world sees 12th visit 14th place. In spite of  having the weekend’s fixture with Fiorentina put back a few days and contested in midweek due to the snow, Bologna managed a stirring performance to come from a goal down to defeat La Viola and will look to build on that win and further move away from the madding crowd below them in relegation trouble. Cagliari though are in fine form having won four of seven and last losing eight games ago at Lazio. They have won three of the last four netting four on two occasions.

Away win for me at 13/5 with bet365 and the over 3.5 at 1/3 with bet365

[gameodds]10/220010/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Catania vs. Internazionale  

For a full preview of this game at Stadio Angelo Massimino by regular contributing writer Mike Richardson and all his free odds, picks and predictions from SBR on this match, simply click here.

Home win for me at 7/5 with William Hill

Fiorentina vs. Chievo Verona

Hopefully snow will not be a factor this time out as La Viola host the Flying Donkeys, which sounds more like a very strange musical ensemble in concert, rather than a football match. Still, it's all donkey and no flying for the Verona side of late with just two wins in eight and four losses in that time, two of them heavy defeats. Fiorentina have alternated these last five weeks from win to loss and on the strength of that sequence should win this weekend after defeat in Bologna Tuesday in the rearranged due to snow game from the previous weekend! Chievo failed to score for the first time in fave games at Sampdoria. La Viola put four past Inter two weeks ago.

Home win for me at 4/9 with bet365  

Sampdoria vs. Parma

Tenth hosts 11th as these two sides, both on 32 points, look for a little separation both from each other and the bottom half of the table. Sampdoria have lost just one in eight and won four of them, beating both Roma and Juve in that time. Parma have won just one in eight, losing four including the last two and have just one clean sheet in twelve outings and should be looking over their shoulders a little more warily at this rate.

Home win for me at 11/8 and 11/4 the Sampdoria/Sampdoria double result with William Hill

[gameodds]10/220012/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Siena vs. Atalanta

18th place Siena host 16th spot Atalanta in this must win for the home side. Lose and the gap is a whopping nine between them and their visitors and at least five from safety assuming Genoa lose in Rome. Siena have it in them to compete with the best as wins against both Lazio (3-0) and Inter (3-1) the last four weeks clearly shows and I think they still have a chance to escape as they are strangely the best footballing side in the bottom six or seven. Atalanta will know all about the possible nine point gap but with five losses and just one win their last eight they could well be making way for Siena unless they halt the bleeding right now.

Home win for me at 6/5 and 3-1 at 20/1 my correct score soccer pick with bet365

[gameodds]10/220018/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

Pescara vs. Udinese

Pescara are down for me. For they lack most of the qualities that I have stated above, may save a side like Siena. Pescara have let in 24 goals in the 15 minutes before and after half-time, almost half of the 53 they have conceded in total this season. They have not won in 2013. LWLWLD tells it's own inconsistent story for Udinese and they now sit comfortably in ninth position in the League but could be challenging for much more. Much of this has been down to their very good home form. Francesco Guidolin’s side have lost just one game at home in the league this season, better than Inter and Roma and only equalled by Napoli and Fiorentina. Away though they cannot find the same form, losing three on the bounce and not finding a win in 2013.

Away win for me at 6/5 with William Hill

[gameodds]10/220019/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]

AS Roma vs. Genoa

The Stadio Olimpico in Rome should see the home side win this one comfortably in the evening game that rounds of Week 27 in Serie A. Roma will be desperate to close the gap on those in the European places above them and sit just four points behind Inter in 5th. Genoa sit 17th just a place off relegation but have lost just one in six, winning two including a 3-2 defeat of Lazio, Roma's city rivals and a 1-1 draw with leaders Juve. They have drawn their last three away games too and are, like Siena, showing the right signs at the right time to at least give themselves a chance at survival and to keep destiny in their own hands. Roma have won their last two after conceding ten in three games including two heavy losses 4-2 and 3-1 and have faded from the title race and European spot race too.

Away win for me at 5/1 with William Hill 

[gameodds]10/220014/169-43-1537-1096/us[/gameodds]