Hamilton Favored to Take Bahrain Grand Prix Title from Vettel

Kevin Stott

Thursday, April 5, 2018 9:17 PM UTC

Thursday, Apr. 5, 2018 9:17 PM UTC

Sebastian Vettel won last year's event and began the 2018 Formula 1 season by winning the Australian Grand Prix, but Lewis Hamilton has the pole and the role as favorite.

Auto Racing: Bahrain Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel will try for a repeat victory in the Bahrain Grand Prix on Sunday (11:10 a.m. ET; ESPN2) at Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir. Lewis Hamilton, on the pole, is the favorite to dethrone Vettel in the Formula 1 event Vettel edged Hamilton in last month's Australian Grand Prix, the F! season opener.

The circuit at Sakhir is 3.363 miles long, with the race distance at 191.634 miles. This is the 14th running of the Bahrain Grand Prix -- Vettel has won three times -- and will be held at night (in Sakhir) for the fifth time.

Bahrain Grand Prix Futures Odds

Lewis Hamilton -120
Sebastian Vettel +350
Valtteri Bottas +650
Max Verstappen +1200
Daniel Ricciardo +1400
Kimi Räikkönen +1600
Fernando Alonso +20000
Romain Grosjean +20000
Kevin Magnussen +20000
Carlos Sainz +30000
Nico Hulkenberg +40000
Stoffel Vandoorne +40000
Sergio Pérez +75000
Esteban Ocon +75000
Lance Stroll +200000
Sergey Sirotkin +300000
Pierre Gasly +400000
Brendon Hartley +400000
Charles Leclerc +500000
Marcus Ericsson +500000

Bahrain Grand Prix Winners

2017: Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
2016: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2015: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2014: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2013: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)
2012: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)
2011: Race canceled
2010: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
2009: Jenson Button (Brawn-Mercedes)
2008: Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
2007: Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
2006: Fernando Alonso (Renault)
2005: Fernando Alonso (Renault)
2004: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

Hamilton Has Motivation

A technical glitch cost Hamilton a potential win in Australia when Vittel leap-frogged the race leader, who was taking a safety car period. Afterwards it was found that an incorrect time gap calculation by the Mercedes team's computer systems was the ultimate reason Hamilton ended up losing. Hamilton was 5.036 seconds behind Vettel, and Kimi Räikkönen was third. Vettel's winning time was 1:29:33.283.

Next up on the 21-race Formula 1 schedule is the Chinese Grand Prix on April 15 at Shanghai International Circuit, followed by the Azerbaijan Grand Prix from Baku City Circuit on April 29.

Free Bahrain Grand Prix Pick: Lewis Hamilton -120 (5Dimes)

comment here