College World Series Format & Schedule; Vanderbilt Forced A Decisive Game 3 Tonight

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 9:18 PM UTC

Wednesday, Jun. 26, 2019 9:18 PM UTC

Vanderbilt beat Michigan 4-1 to stave off elimination and force a winner-take-all Game 3 of the College World Series tonight at 7:00 PM ET at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

<div><p>Starter Kumar Rocker led Vanderbilt to the huge victory last night with 11 strikeouts, which are tied for second-most by any pitcher in a College World Series game.</p><p>Vanderbilt became the ninth team to force Game 3 of the College World Series after losing Game 1. Five of the previous eight teams won the title, including each of the last three.</p><div>[/]{"component": "embedHTML", "code": "&lt;blockquote class=\"twitter-tweet\"&gt;&lt;p lang=\"en\" dir=\"ltr\"&gt;Vanderbilt's Kumar Rocker struck out 11 batters in seven innings to keep the Commodores CWS hopes alive after Tuesday's 4-1 win over Michigan.&lt;a href=\";amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw\"&gt;#CWS&lt;/a&gt; | &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;@VandyBoys&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;— NCAA Baseball (@NCAACWS) &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;June 26, 2019&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/blockquote&gt; &lt;script async src=\"\" charset=\"utf-8\"&gt;&lt;/script&gt;"}[/]</div><div> </div><p>The College World Series format is unique, it's very different from other playoff formats in sports because "World Series" or "Championship" portion of the NCAA Baseball Tournament is not just between two teams.</p><p>The NCAA Tournament starts with 64 teams (31 of them automatically qualify as conference champions while the rest are at-large teams).</p><p>This year Michigan was the fourth-to-last team to sneak into the field while Vanderbilt won the SEC Tournament to earn the No. 2 overall seed, going 49-10.</p><p>Here's a detailed explanation of the College World Series format at</p><p><em>"The NCAA Division I baseball tournament is a 64-team tournament that starts in May. After two rounds of play (which each consist of multiple games), there are just eight teams left. These eight teams then head to Omaha, Nebraska for the College World Series. The CWS is the culmination of the DI tournament, where the teams compete in two brackets, with the winners of each meeting in the CWS finals, a best-of-three series to decide the NCAA champion."</em></p><p><u><strong>College World Series Game 3 Odds</strong></u><br /><strong><u>(Courtesy of <a href=";book=5dimes" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">5Dimes</a>)</u></strong></p><p>Run line:</p><p>Vanderbilt -1.5 (-125)</p><p>Michigan +1.5 (+105)</p><p>Moneyline:</p><p>Vanderbilt -230</p><p>Michigan +190</p><p>Total:</p><p>Over 8 (-105)</p><p>Under 8 (-115)</p></div>
comment here