College World Series Format & Schedule; Michigan One Win Away From Title

Tuesday, June 25, 2019 6:46 PM UTC

Tuesday, Jun. 25, 2019 6:46 PM UTC

Michigan beat Vanderbilt 7-4 in Game 1 of the College World Series last night and they're now one win away from their first National Championship since 1962, which would also be the first baseball title for a Big Ten team since 1966.

<div><p>Game 2 of the College World Series takes place tonight at 7:00 PM ET at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska. The College World Series is best-of-three, so Vanderbilt has to win on Tuesday night to force a decisive Game 3 tomorrow.</p><div>[/]{"component": "embedHTML", "code": "&lt;blockquote class=\"twitter-tweet\"&gt;&lt;p lang=\"en\" dir=\"ltr\"&gt;WHAT A 🚀 OF A THROW! &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;JORDAN BREWER! &lt;a href=\";amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw\"&gt;#CWS&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href=\";amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw\"&gt;#SCTop10&lt;/a&gt; | &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;@umichbaseball&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;— NCAA Baseball (@NCAACWS) &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;June 25, 2019&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/blockquote&gt; &lt;script async src=\"\" charset=\"utf-8\"&gt;&lt;/script&gt;"}[/]</div><div> </div><p>The College World Series format is unique, it's very different from other playoff formats in sports because "World Series" or "Championship" portion of the NCAA Baseball Tournament is not just between two teams.</p><p>The NCAA Tournament starts with 64 teams (31 of them automatically qualify as conference champions while the rest are at-large teams).</p><p>This year Michigan was the fourth-to-last team to sneak into the field while Vanderbilt won the SEC Tournament to earn the No. 2 overall seed, going 49-10.</p><p>The regionals, hosted by 16 teams, pit four teams against each other in a double-elimination round. One team from each regional advances to the next round, which is called the Super Regional, another double-elimination round, this time only between two teams, with eight teams advancing to the College World Series.</p><p>The College World Series has two rounds. The first one is a double-elimination round robin between four teams on each side of the bracket and the ones with the best record on each bracket meet in the best-of-three championship.</p><p>Here's a detailed explanation of the College World Series format at</p><p><em>"The NCAA Division I baseball tournament is a 64-team tournament that starts in May. After two rounds of play (which each consist of multiple games), there are just eight teams left. These eight teams then head to Omaha, Nebraska for the College World Series. The CWS is the culmination of the DI tournament, where the teams compete in two brackets, with the winners of each meeting in the CWS finals, a best-of-three series to decide the NCAA champion."</em></p><p><strong><u>College World Series Best-Of-Three Winner<br />(Courtesy of <a href=";book=5dimes" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">5Dimes</a>)</u></strong></p><p>Michigan wins College World Series -135</p><p>Vanderbilt wins College World Series +115</p><p><strong><u>College World Series Game 2 Odds</u></strong></p><p>Run line:</p><p>Vanderbilt -1.5 (-130)</p><p>Michigan +1.5 (+110)</p><p>Moneyline:</p><p>Vanderbilt -220</p><p>Michigan +180</p><p>Total:</p><p>Over 9.5 (+100)</p><p>Under 9.5 (-120)</p></div>
comment here