Chris Froome Ruled Out of Tour de France After Hitting Wall in a High-Speed Crash

Thursday, June 13, 2019 8:10 PM UTC

Thursday, Jun. 13, 2019 8:10 PM UTC

Four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome fractured his femur, elbow and ribs in a high-speed crash and he will miss the Tour de France.

<div><p>According to Team Ineos principal David Brailsford, Froome is in intensive care at Saint-Etienne University Hospital after hitting a wall at 54km/h when he took a hand off his handlebars to blow his nose.</p><p>The crash occurred in a practice ride before stage four of the Criterium du Dauphine in Roanne, France, a 26.1 km individual time trial. Brailsford discussed the crash and Froome's future:</p><p><em>"Even though we all recognize the risks involved in our sport, it's always traumatic when a rider crashes and sustains serious injuries. </em></p><p><em>Chris had worked incredibly hard to get in fantastic shape and was on track for the Tour, which unfortunately he will now miss.</em></p><p><em>One of the things which sets Chris apart is his mental strength and resilience - and we will support him totally in his recovery, help him to recalibrate and assist him in pursuing his future goals and ambitions."</em></p><div>[/]{"component": "embedHTML", "code": "&lt;blockquote class=\"twitter-tweet\"&gt;&lt;p lang=\"en\" dir=\"ltr\"&gt;BREAKING NEWS! &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;@chrisfroome&lt;/a&gt; is out of &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;@LeTour&lt;/a&gt; with a suspected fracture. We at GCN wish Froome all the best for his recovery and hope he'll be back on a bike soon. &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;— GlobalCyclingNetwork (@gcntweet) &lt;a href=\"\"&gt;June 12, 2019&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/blockquote&gt; &lt;script async src=\"\" charset=\"utf-8\"&gt;&lt;/script&gt;"}[/]</div><div> </div><p>Froome was eighth overall in the Criterium du Dauphine after three stages and he was favored to win the Tour de France and tie Jacques Anqutetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain as five-time champions of the prestigious 116-year race.</p><p>Last year Froome was the favorite as well and he holds all three Grand Tour titles, after winning the Giro d'Italia (2018) and the Vuelta a España (2017). He won the Tour de France in 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017 and finished third last year, behind teammate Geraint Thomas and Tom Dumoulin.</p><p>Thomas and Froome were expected to share leadership duties at this year's Tour de France, which starts July 6 in Brussels, Belgium but Froome's crash throws things up in the air. Young Colombian climber Egan Bernal should get a bigger role and even enjoy co-leader status.</p><p>Froome will remain in intensive care "for the next couple of days" after undergoing almost eight hours of surgery on Wednesday night. He will be 35 years old by the time of next year's Tour de France and Firmin Lambot in 1922 (36 years old) is the only man to win the race at 35 years or older.</p><p><strong><u>2019 Tour de France Winner<br />(Courtesy of <a href=";book=WilliamHill" target="_blank">William Hill</a>)</u></strong></p><p>Geraint Thomas +175</p><p>Egan Bernal +500</p><p>Tom Dumoulin +550</p><p>Jakob Fuglsang +1000</p><p>Nairo Quintana +1000</p><p>Richie Porte +1100</p><p>Adam Yates +1200</p><p>Steven Kruijswijk +1800</p><p>Enric Mas Nicolau +2000</p><p>Mikel Landa +2200</p><p>Romain Bardet +2500<br />Thibaut Pinot +2500</p><p>Simon Yates +2800</p><p>Richard Carapaz +3300</p><p>Rigoberto Uran +3300</p><p>Vincenzo Nibali +3300</p><p>Miguel Angel Lopez +5000</p><p>Alejandro Valverde +10000</p><p>Daniel Martin +10000</p><p>Julian Alaphilippe +10000</p><p>Wilco Kelderman +10000</p><p>Fabio Aru +15000</p><p>George Bennett +15000</p><p>David Gaudu +20000</p><p>Michal Kwiatkowski +20000</p><p>Rohan Dennis +20000</p><p>Roman Kreuziger +20000</p><p>Wouter Poels +20000</p><p>Jonathan Esteban Chaves +25000</p><p>Bob Jungels +30000</p><p>Maximilian Schachmann +30000</p><p>Michael Woods +30000</p><p>Patrick Konrad +30000</p><p>Sam Oomen +30000</p><p>Rafal Majka +35000</p><p>Bauke Mollema +40000</p><p>Pierre Latour +40000</p><p>Warren Barguil +40000</p><p>Carlos Betancur +50000</p><p>Domenci Pozzovivo +50000</p><p>Marc Soler +50000</p><p>Pello Bilbao +50000</p><p>Tejay Van Garderen +50000</p><p>Sebastien Reichenbach +60000</p><p>Davide Formolo +80000</p><p>Jan Hirt +80000</p><p>Robert Gesink +80000</p><p>Tiesj Benoot +80000</p><p>Sergio Luis Henao +100000</p><p>Peter Sagan +200000</p><p>Mark Cavendish +500000</p></div>
comment here