Which Colleges Have Had Most Super Bowl MVPs?

Matthew Jordan

Friday, February 3, 2017 7:20 PM UTC

Friday, Feb. 3, 2017 7:20 PM UTC

Just because we think differently here at SBR Forum, we decided to break down the previous Super Bowl MVP winners by the college they attended. Here’s a look at the leaders and potential odds for players from those schools in Super Bowl LI.

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady has won three Super Bowl MVP Awards, tied with former San Francisco 49ers legend – and Brady’s idol growing up – Joe Montana for the most in history. Brady is the +100 favorite on BetOnline NFL odds to win the MVP of Sunday’s Super Bowl LI in Houston against the Atlanta Falcons. We all know that Brady went to the University of Michigan and was a sixth-round pick by the Patriots in the 2000 NFL Draft.

Indeed, Michigan leads all schools with four Super Bowl MVPs – Brady’s three and one by former Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard. In Super Bowl XXXI for Green Bay, Howard's 99-yard kickoff return in the third quarter accounted for the final points in a 35-21 Packers victory over the Patriots. Howard finished the game with 244 return yards. He remains the only special teams player to win the award.

No player from Boston College has ever won Super Bowl MVP, but alum and Falcons QB Matt Ryan is the +175 second-favorite on NFL odds. Four schools have totaled three Super Bowl MVPs: Alabama, Georgia, Notre Dame and USC.

The Irish’s three MVPs are all thanks to Montana. The only player on either the Patriots or Falcons from Notre Dame is New England receiver Michael Floyd, and he’s not expected to be active.

Alabama’s three MVPs were all quarterbacks and came in the first three Super Bowls: the Packers’ Bart Starr in I & II and the Jets’ Joe Namath in III. The third-favorite on NFL picks for the MVP prop Sunday is a former Tide player: Falcons star receiver Julio Jones at +800. One of New England’s top defensive players is linebacker and Alabama alum Dont’a Hightower, and he’s +9000.

Georgia’s three MVPs were Dolphins safety Jake Scott (VII), Broncos running back Terrell Davis (XXXII) and Steelers receiver Hines Ward (XL). Patriots receiver Malcolm Mitchell is a former Dawg and is +12500 for MVP.

Finally, Southern Cal’s three MVPs were Steelers receiver Lynn Swann (X), Raiders running back Marcus Allen (XVIII) and Seahawks linebacker Malcolm Smith (XLVIII). Neither New England nor Atlanta has a Trojan on the roster.

comment here