Arkansas St/ MTSU Total and FAU Owls Early College Bowl Line Movers

Florida Atlantic

Kevin Stott

Thursday, December 7, 2017 8:32 PM UTC

Thursday, Dec. 7, 2017 8:32 PM UTC

Point Spreads, Moneyline odds and Totals for the 2017 College Bowl games are up at sportsbooks Offshore and with a little more than a week to go before the first one kicks off, let’s look at the opening lines and early movement.

Totals Seeing Much More Movement Than Sides Offshore in Early 2017/18 College Football Bowl Betting Action

The 2017/18 College Football Bowl season kicks off next Saturday (Dec. 16) with six Bowl games to start the festive—and somewhat meaningless for the vast majority of teams involved—part of the gridiron season where we get to ask, “What in the name of sweet baby Jesus is a ‘Cheribundi Tart Cherry’,” “Who are ‘NOVA Home Loans’?” and how did AutoZone get a bowl game? Betting on College Bowl games seems less serious than the Regular Season, with Motivation (of the teams playing) always a question mark, both sides usually playing on strange fields and the betting numbers not as refined as the Regular Season because most of the teams would never be playing each other and there are no great sample sizes to measure and handicap. Looking at the Totals this Bowl season, they appear to be lower than in the past, but who knows if it’s because of the matchups or past Trends and results.

Here are the opening Point Spreads and Totals for the 2017 College Football Bowl games—39 of them now—with the line movement and direction to date as well as some of the current (Wednesday, December 6) odds extremes.

Saturday, December 16, 2017Celebration Bowl—Grambling vs. North Carolina A&T, ABC, 12 pm ET/9 am PT

Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta

New Orleans Bowl—Troy vs. North Texas, ESPN, 1 pm ET/10 am PT

Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana

Open: TROY -6 — Current: TROY -5½ — Movement: Down ½

Total Open: 61½ — Current Low: 59½ — Movement: Down 2

Cure Bowl—Western Kentucky vs. Georgia State, CBSSN, 2:30 pm ET

Camping World Stadium, Orlando, Florida

Open: WKU -4½ — Current: WKU -5 — Movement: Up ½

Total Open: 49 — Current Low: 52 — Movement: Up 3

Las Vegas Bowl—#25 Boise State vs. Oregon, ABC, 3:30 pm ET/12:30 pm PT

Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas, Nevada

Open: OREGON -5 — Current: OREGON -8 (Bovada) — Movement: Up 3

Total Open: 63 — Current Low: 59 (BookMaker) — Movement: Down 4

New Mexico Bowl—Marshall vs. Colorado State, ESPN, 4:30 pm ET/1:30 pm PT

Branch Field at Dreamstyle Stadium, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Open: COL ST -5½ — Current: COL ST -5½ — Movement: None

Total Open: 53 — Current High: 58 — Movement: Up 5

Camellia Bowl—Middle Tennessee vs. Arkansas State, ESPN, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT

Cramton Bowl, Montgomery, Alabama

Open: ARK ST -3½ +100 — Current: ARK ST -3½ -110 — Movement: Juice

Total Open: 57 — Current High: 62½ — Movement: Up 5½

Tuesday, December 19, 2017Boca Raton Bowl—Akron vs. Florida Atlantic, ESPN, 7 pm ET

Howard Schnellenberger Field at FAU Stadium, Boca Raton, Florida

Open: FAU -17 — Current High: FAU -23 (Bovada) — Movement: ?? Up 6

Total Open: 61½ — Current: 61½ — Movement: None

Wednesday, December 20, 2017Frisco Bowl—Louisiana Tech vs. SMU, ESPN, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT

Toyota Stadium, Frisco, Texas

Open: SMU -4½ — Current High: SMU -5 — Movement: Up ½

Total Open: 68 — Current: 70 — Movement: Up 2

Thursday, December 21, 2017Gasparilla Bowl—Temple vs. Florida International, ESPN, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT

Tropicana Field, St. Petersburg, Florida

Open: TEMP -8 — Current Low: TEMP -7 — Movement: Down 1

Total Open: 58 — Current: 56 — Movement: Down 2

Friday, December 22, 2017Bahamas Bowl—UAB vs. Ohio, ESPN, 12:30 pm ET/9:30 am PT

Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium, Nassau, Bahamas

Open: OHIO -7 — Current Low: OHIO -7½ — Movement: Up ½

Total Open: 57½ — Current: 57 (BookMaker) — Movement: Down ½

Famous Idaho Potato Bowl—Central Michigan vs. Wyoming, ESPN, 4pm ET/1 pm PT

Lyle Smith Field at Albertsons Stadium, Boise, Idaho

Open: PICK — Current Low: WYO -1 — Movement: Up 1

Total Open: 46½ — Current: 45 (Heritage) — Movement: Down 1½

Saturday, December 23, 2017Birmingham Bowl—Texas Tech vs. #23 South Florida, ESPN, 12 pm ET/9 am PT

Legion Field, Birmingham, Alabama

Open: USF -3 — Current Low: USF -2½ — Movement: Down ½

Total Open: 66½ — Current High: 67½ (Heritage) — Movement: Up 1

Armed Forces Bowl—San Diego State vs. Army, ESPN, 3:30 pm ET/12:30 pm PT

Amon G. Carter Stadium, Fort Worth, Texas

Open: OFF — Current: OFF — (Why? Navy-Army Saturday)

Dollar General Bowl—Toledo vs. Appalachian State, ESPN, 7 pm ET/4 pm PT

Ladd-Peebles Stadium, Mobile, Alabama

Open: TOLEDO -8 — Current Low: TOLEDO -8 — Movement: None

Total Open: 62½ — Current: 63 — Movement: Up ½

Sunday, December 24, 2017Hawai'i Bowl—Fresno State vs. Houston, ESPN, 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT

Hawaiian Tel Federal Credit Union Field at Aloha Stadium, Honolulu, Hawai’i

Open: HOU -1½ — Current Low: HOU -2½ — Movement: Up 1

Total Open: 46 — Current: 50½ (BookMaker) — Movement: Up 4½

Tuesday, December 26, 2017Heart of Dallas Bowl—Utah vs. West Virginia, ESPN, 1:30 pm ET/10:30 am PT

Cotton Bowl, Dallas

Open: UTAH -4½ — Current High: UTAH -7½ — Movement: Up 3

Total Open: 54 — Current: 57½ (5Dimes) — Movement: Up 3

Quick Lane Bowl—Duke vs. Northern Illinois, ESPN, 5:15 pm ET/2:15 pm PT

Ford Field, Detroit

Open: DUKE -2½ — Current High: DUKE -4½ — Movement: Up 2

Total Open: 48 — Current: 47½ — Movement: Down ½

Cactus Bowl—Kansas State vs. UCLA, ESPN, 9 pm EST/6 pm PST

Chase Field, Phoenix

Open: KSU -2½ — Current Low: KSU -2 — Movement: Down ½

Total Open: 63½ — Current: 63½ — Movement: None

Wednesday, December 27, 2017Independence Bowl—Southern Miss vs. Florida State, ESPN, 1:30 pm ET/10:30 am PT

Independence Stadium, Shreveport, Louisiana

Open: FSU -14 — Current High: FSU -15 — Movement: Up 1

Total Open: 50½ — Current: 49 — Movement: Down 1½

New Era Pinstripe Bowl—Iowa vs. Boston College, ESPN, 5:15 pm ET/2:15 pm PT

Yankee Stadium, Bronx, New York

Open: IOWA -2½ — Current Low: IOWA -3 — Movement: Up ½

Total Open: 46½ — Current: 45 (BetOnline) — Movement: Down 1½

Foster Farms Bowl—Arizona vs. Purdue, FOX, 8:30 pm/5:30 pm PT

Levi's Stadium, Santa Clara, California

Open: AZ -4½ — Current Low: AZ -3½ — Movement: Down 1

Total Open: 63 — Current: 66 (YouWager) — Movement: Up 3

Texas Bowl—Texas vs. Missouri, ESPN, 9 pm EST/6 pm PST

NRG Stadium, Houston

Open: TEXAS -1½ — Current Low: MIZZOU -3 — Move: Up 4½ (Favorite-Flip)

Total Open: 59 — Current: 60½ — Movement: Up 1½

Thursday, December 28, 2017Military Bowl—Virginia vs. Navy, ESPN, 1:30 pm ET/10:30 am PT

Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, Annapolis, Maryland

Open: NAVY -3½ — Current: NAVY -3½ (Pinnacle) — Move: Just posted

Camping World Bowl—#22 VT vs. #19 Oklahoma St, ESPN, 5:15 pm ET/2:15 pm PT

Camping World Stadium, Orlando, Florida

Open: OK ST -6½ — Current High: OK ST -7 — Movement: Up 1

Total Open: 62½ — Current: 63 — Movement: Up ½

Alamo Bowl—# 13 Stanford vs. # 15 TCU, ESPN, 9 pm EST/6 pm PST

Alamodome, San Antonio, Texas

Open: TCU -2 — Current High: TCU -2½ — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 46 — Current: 49 — Movement: Up 1

Holiday Bowl—#18 Washington St vs. #16 Michigan St, FS1, 9 pm EST/6 pm PST

SDCCU Stadium, San Diego, California

Open: WSU -4½ — Current High: WSU -3 — Move: Down 1½

Total Open: 44½ — Current: 45— Movement: Up ½

Friday, December 29, 2017Belk Bowl—Wake Forest vs. Texas A&M, ESPN, 1 pm ET/10 am PT

Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, North Carolina

Open: WAKE -2½ — Current High: WAKE -3 — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 64 — Current: 65— Movement: Up 1

Sun Bowl—#24 NC State vs. Arizona State, CBS, 3 pm ET/12 pm PT

Sun Bowl, El Paso, Texas

Open: NC ST -5 — Current High: NC ST -6 — Move: Up 1

Total Open: 44½ — Current: 45 — Movement: Up ½

Music City Bowl—Kentucky vs. #21 Northwestern, ESPN, 4:30 pm ET/1:30 pm PT

Nissan Stadium, Nashville, Tennessee

Open: NU -6 — Current High: NU -7½ (5Dimes) — Move: Up 1½

Total Open: 51 — Current: 51 — Movement: None

Arizona Bowl—Utah State vs. New Mexico State, CBSSN, 5:30 pm ET/2:30 pm PT

Arizona Stadium, Tucson, Arizona

Open: USU -2½ — Current High: USU -3½ — Move: Up 1

Total Open: 60½ — Current High: 61 — Movement: Up ½

Cotton Bowl Classic—#8 USC vs. #5 Ohio State, ESPN, 8:30 pm/5:30 pm PT

AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas

Open: OSU -6½ — Current High: OSU -7 — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 64½ — Current: 64½ — Movement: None

Saturday, December 30, 2017TaxSlayer Bowl—Louisville vs. #23 Mississippi State, ESPN 12 pm ET/9 am PT

EverBank Field, Jacksonville, Florida

Open: OSU -6½ — Current High: OSU -7 — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 64½ — Current: 64½— Movement: None

Liberty Bowl—Iowa State vs. #20 Memphis, ABC, 12:30 pm ET/9:30 am PT

Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium, Memphis, Tennessee

Open: MEMP -3 — Current High: MEMP -3½ — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 66½ — Current: 66½— Movement: None

Fiesta Bowl—#11 Washington vs. # 9 Penn State, ESPN, 4 pm ET/1 pm PT

University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

Open: WASH -3 — Current High: WASH -3 — Move: Up 1

Total Open: 56 — Current: 55— Movement: Down 1

Orange Bowl—#10 Miami vs. #6 Wisconsin, ESPN, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT

Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida

Open: WiS -6 — Current High: WIS -7 (Bovada) — Move: Up 1

Total Open: 45 — Current: 45½ (BetOnline) — Movement: Up ½

Sunday, January 1, 2018Outback Bowl—Michigan vs. South Carolina, ESPN2, 12 pm ET/9 am PT

Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Florida

Open: MICH -7½ — Current High: MICH -8 — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 42 — Current: 43 — Movement: Up 1

Peach Bowl—# 12 UCF vs. #7 Auburn, ESPN, 12:30 pm ET/9:20 am PT

Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta

Open: AUB -8 — Current High: AUB -10 (Bovada) — Move: Up 2

Total Open: 63 — Current: 67 — Movement: Up 4

Citrus Bowl—#14 Notre Dame vs. #17 LSU, ABC, 1 pm ET/10 am PT

Camping World Stadium, Orlando, Florida

Open: LSU -1 — Current High: LSU -3 — Move: Up 2

Total Open: 49½ — Current: 51½ — Movement: Up 2

CFP at the Rose Bowl—#2 Oklahoma vs. #3 Georgia, ESPN, 5 pm ET/2 pm PT

Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California

Open: OK -1 — Current High: GEORGIA -2 — Move: Up 3 (Favorite-Flip)

Total Open: 60 — Current: 60 — Movement: None

CFP at the Sugar Bowl—#1 Clemson vs. #4 Alabama, ESPN, 8:45 pm ET/5:45 pm PT

Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana

Open: ALA -2 — Current High: ALA -2½ — Move: Up ½

Total Open: 47 — Current: 47 Movement: None

Backing Teams from Perceived Stronger Conferences Often a Solid College Bowl Betting Approach in December

The teams who looked good putting all of this together are Colorado State -5½, Duke -4½, Purdue +3½ and Utah State -3½. Colorado State has been bad against the number and opponent Marshall has been good, but the Albuquerque, New Mexico Site should help the Rams who have a decent QB, a very good RB and a great WR and will be playing in the same Time Zone (MST) as their Body Clocks compared to the Thundering Herd who play in the EST. Duke has played a nasty schedule, but had a nice season thanks to the Blue Devils solid Defense and against Northern Illinois, they should win by 7 or more as the Huskies looked weak at converting on 3rd Downs the two times I backed them and seem to be down a notch from past Northern Illinois teams, while strong NCAAB Duke school really impressed on the gridiron...once again.

Purdue played feisty all Regular Season, and are better than its .500 SU Record reveals and the Big Ten Conference was better than most people will admit or can recognize this season, despite none of its members making the CFP Playoff, and the Boilermakers can win this game outright against Pac-12 side Arizona and backing Purdue on the Moneyline may end up being the better route for those who like the Boilermakers. And, Utah State just scores so easily it seems and with New Mexico State and QB Tyler Rogers passing much for the Aggies, backing the Over may also be a good idea in the Arizona Bowl.

comment here