Optional
    Optional's Avatar Moderator
    Betpoints: 9183

Picking Off The Top Seeds

I'm new to tennis betting, and have learned a lot in a short time in this forum. Mostly that I need to learn a lot more about individual players to be really successful.

Anyway, whilst learning and playing very small on most matches, I am going to concentrate on making one decent sized bet per tournament on when the top seed will be knocked out.

I'm hoping some of the experts here will help steer me toward the right times to pounce.

Inspiration for this comes from having tailed Shari picking them off correctly 5-0 so far in 2011 (including 2 first rounds)

Ciblukova +400 over Wozniacki in Sydney R1
    Li Na -110 over Wozniacki in Melbourne SF
    Dancevic +220 over Lopez in Joberg R1
    Zeballos +425 over Nalbandian in Santiago R16
    Mayer +200 over Cilic in Zagreb QF

Targets For This Week

Rotterdam - Robin Soderling
    San Jose - Fernando Verdasco
    Paris - Kim Clijsters
    Brazil - Nicolas Almagro
    Pattaya - Vera Zvonareva

Optional

1st Round Matchups

Soderling -426 v Robin Haase +400

Haase lost 7-6 6-4 to Robredo in the 1st round here last year. He is 7-3 indoors since Oct 2010, losing to Djockovic, Wawrinka and Zverev. Highest ranked player he won against was Isner. So far this year he has played 3 hard courts, losing to Wawrinka in the QF at Chennai, Isner R16 at Auckland and to Roddick in 3R Aussie Open.

Don't think Haase is without a chance, but Soderling is strong on the surface and in good form, so hard to go against him here?

Verdasco -1000 v Rajeev Ram +733

Since winning this tournament last year Verdasco has gone 2-5 in 5 indoor tournaments, losing in the first round at very short odds 3 times, and in the 2nd round the other 2. He lost first round in Brisbane this year on hard, before losing at his first real testing match against Berdych at the Aussie Open.