Vitooch
    Dayman
    Vitooch's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 159

Bose Speakers

Recently purchased Bose 301 Series V speakers. Opened up package and found nothing in it but the two speakers. No wires or anything. I'm not at all familiar with speakers and how to set them up. What additional wiring must I buy? Where can I get them? Also, how dp I connect them to a mac laptop? I'm a newbie to sound systems so bare with me.

Will provide points for those who can help.

Manual is here

http://worldwide.bose.com/productsup...01_series5.pdf

Deuce
    Eddie Mush
    Deuce's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3519

Return them. Most overrated speakers in the industry. You're simply paying for a name.

Vitooch
    Dayman

I'd rather learn how to set them up and see for myself before I do that.
    Nomination(s):
    This post was nominated 1 time . To view the nominated thread please click here. People who nominated: InTheDrink

Deuce
    Eddie Mush

Most Bose systems have a separate receiver that comes with the speakers. They most certainly have wires. Did you buy them black market or from a store?

Vitooch
    Dayman

Bought them at Best Buy. They do not come with wiring as stated in the manual but I don't see a receiver. Can I buy that separately?

Deuce
    Eddie Mush

Oh I see, they are bookshelf. Just use any speaker wire. It should work if both receiver and speaker are female.

Deuce
    Eddie Mush

PS you'll connect your laptop to the receiver via 8mm headphone jack.

Vitooch
    Dayman

Don't think I have speaker wire or a receiver. Where should I buy them. Do I need to buy a specific kind of receiver? And how do I connect it to a laptop?

Deuce
    Eddie Mush

Any 5.1 should work. You don't need anything fancy just make sure you tell the salesman exactly what you want to use it for. BB has speaker wire too.

keyboarding
    SBR's Respected Garbage
    keyboarding's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 972