70kgman
    70kgman's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1895

computer specs question

Probably not the best place to ask this question, but easier then finding and signing up at a new forum just to ask one question. I am sure somebody here will know.

I am a musician who does a lot of demo recording on the computer. My current computer is not able to handle large multi-track sessions (i.e 12+ tracks imported into a single multi-track session). It skips and freezes when I have too many tracks it has to read simultaneously. I am pretty clueless when it comes computer tech stuff. My question is...on my next computer purchase...what kind of specs am I going to have to look for that would be ideal for multi-track recording/mixing? I am not sure what kind of specs would be responsible for that kind of performance. Memory? GHZ? Other?

Lookingtostart
    Lookingtostart's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 4542

Mainly memory and processor speed. What software are you trying to use?

HoulihansTX
    Bowl $ea$on
    HoulihansTX's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 295

What the above poster said.

What is your current RAM size? You may be able to upgrade, or you may have to buy a new computer.

70kgman

Quote Originally Posted by HoulihansTX View Post
    What the above poster said.

What is your current RAM size? You may be able to upgrade, or you may have to buy a new computer.
    2.79GHz, 0.99 GB RAM.

SpreadSniper
    SpreadSniper's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 7261

Quote Originally Posted by 70kgman View Post
    2.79GHz, 0.99 GB RAM.
    there's your problem... Audio/video editing is quite processor/memory intensive.... running that many "sessions" requires a tremendous amount of RAM in order to simultaneously process and input/output.