1. #1
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    Check your online speed


  2. #2
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    my download is 327.99 and the upload 32.68 here

  3. #3
    aston
    aston's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 11-05-08
    Posts: 1,187
    Betpoints: 3652

    Quote Originally Posted by carolinakid View Post
    my download is 327.99 and the upload 32.68 here
    wow that is very fast

  4. #4
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    yes i have spectrum here, they have plans that will take you up to 900, i like to check from time to time my speed was down to around 90 some time ago and the tech found out something on my pole going into the house was off

  5. #5
    trytrytry
    All I do is trytrytry
    trytrytry's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 03-13-06
    Posts: 22,385
    Betpoints: 194260

    33 download

    3 upload

  6. #6
    JIBBBY
    Have a nice day :)
    JIBBBY's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-10-09
    Posts: 61,588
    Betpoints: 50

    I know my shiit is fast because I pay for it.. Don't need to test it.. Fios highest speed internet service in my area... I never get slowed down even when streaming.. Lightening fast. ..

    My cell phone reception in my home is a different story.. Since retrofitting from the Northridge Earthquake years ago when they beefed up the walls I only get one or two bars now tops inside home.. I got a hard line phone also but still.. I need a booster tower on the roof to boost the signal but I'm to lazy to do it.. I will get around to it soon though..

  7. #7
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    Try do you use a router??

  8. #8
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by carolinakid View Post
    Try do you use a router??
    I would think so as it is required to access the internet
    Points Awarded:

    gauchojake gave Booya711 2 Betpoint(s) for this post.

    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  9. #9
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    that not true, you must be thinking of a modem, if you get the wrong type of router it can really slow you down

  10. #10
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by carolinakid View Post
    that not true, you must be thinking of a modem, if you get the wrong type of router it can really slow you down
    believe me....a modem is not needed as a router can access the internet. If you have a modem and a router it is just another device with a single point of failure. Most home internet has a modem because the user doesn't know any better.

    Also, the person who installs the internet in homes can fukk it up and they usually do
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  11. #11
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    you need a modem for your base setup and then a good router for all your other devices, tvs, laptop or guests hookups.

  12. #12
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    To bring the internet into your home, you're going to need a modem. This is a small device that connects to your internet service provider (ISP) to tap into all that internet goodness. ... Your modem shares this connection with a computer or a router via an Ethernet cable.

  13. #13
    DiggityDaggityDo
    DiggityDaggityDo's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 11-30-08
    Posts: 87,070
    Betpoints: 15739


  14. #14
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    Modem stands for “Modulator-Demodulator”. It converts dramatically different types of signals into others. For example, audio tones into serial bits. Or broadband cable tv signals into ethernet.
    If you have coaxial cable coming into your house, you need a modem. There are routers that contain a modem, so you could connect the router directly to the cable. But these are more expensive “business class” devices.
    If your provider gives you an ethernet connection (like Google Fiber), then you can plug your router directly into it.
    But generally speaking, there has to be a modem somewhere.

  15. #15
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    and i tell you guys Express vpn cost a little more but it will not drop your speed down very much and you have many options on countries

  16. #16
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by carolinakid View Post
    Modem stands for “Modulator-Demodulator”. It converts dramatically different types of signals into others. For example, audio tones into serial bits. Or broadband cable tv signals into ethernet.
    If you have coaxial cable coming into your house, you need a modem. There are routers that contain a modem, so you could connect the router directly to the cable. But these are more expensive “business class” devices.
    If your provider gives you an ethernet connection (like Google Fiber), then you can plug your router directly into it.
    But generally speaking, there has to be a modem somewhere.
    exactly..."IF YOU HAVE COAXIAL CABLE" you would have a modem. I have installed many locations with Fiber without needing a modem but instead use a router. The router has a single mode SFP module where the fiber will connect to so they are called "internet routers"

    The modular-demodular functionality is done at the ISP end instead of your home.
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  17. #17
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by DiggityDaggityDo View Post
    Internet coming through Dallas diggity......MAKES SENSE
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  18. #18
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    i guess you can say we came a long way from america online today.

  19. #19
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by carolinakid View Post
    i guess you can say we came a long way from america online today.
    you've got mail
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  20. #20
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    ^^^^^^^^^^ that and those bag phones

  21. #21
    jjgold
    Update your status
    jjgold's Avatar Horses Moderator
    Join Date: 07-20-05
    Posts: 351,650
    Betpoints: 842

    Booya your in the food business and now your a tech expert?


    I used to own a tech company Only 3 total calls
    Though ever So many factors can affect a Speedtest you could get different results all the time whether on a battery or your own power or your mobile and where the distance is to the router

  22. #22
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    i was told by a tech to do the speed 3 times and take the average.

  23. #23
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by jjgold View Post
    Booya your in the food business and now your a tech expert?


    I used to own a tech company Only 3 total calls
    Though ever So many factors can affect a Speedtest you could get different results all the time whether on a battery or your own power or your mobile and where the distance is to the router
    I stayed at a holiday inn express last night
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  24. #24
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^ lol

  25. #25
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915



    I still have my first cell phone....texting was amazing

    phone calls were like $3 a minute
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  26. #26
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    that was back when they could clone your phone too.i got a bill one month for something like 4000.00 where someone clone my number and sold it to someone in ny.i never seen so many papers of phone calls in my life.after a couple of days i finally got it taken care of....

  27. #27
    grease lightnin
    &
    grease lightnin's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 10-01-12
    Posts: 15,633
    Betpoints: 1049

    Download 115, upload 184...

  28. #28
    DiggityDaggityDo
    DiggityDaggityDo's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 11-30-08
    Posts: 87,070
    Betpoints: 15739

    Quote Originally Posted by Booya711 View Post


    I still have my first cell phone....texting was amazing

    phone calls were like $3 a minute
    Booya you still use that Zack Morris phone?

    I would if I had one.

  29. #29
    Booya711
    DOO DOO
    Booya711's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 12-20-11
    Posts: 24,071
    Betpoints: 2915

    Quote Originally Posted by DiggityDaggityDo View Post
    Booya you still use that Zack Morris phone?

    I would if I had one.
    how do you think I posted this pic??????????????
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 2/4/2017


  30. #30
    gauchojake
    Fukkin Jacked For A Kicker
    gauchojake's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 09-17-10
    Posts: 25,972
    Betpoints: 818

    305 down 20 up

    they cap my upload at 20

    im gonna go with Booya on the modem/router thingy

    $20
    Angelman
    donation 02/17/2020


  31. #31
    jjgold
    Update your status
    jjgold's Avatar Horses Moderator
    Join Date: 07-20-05
    Posts: 351,650
    Betpoints: 842

    Booya barreled in
    lol uses old phone

  32. #32
    carolinakid
    carolinakid's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 01-12-11
    Posts: 10,942
    Betpoints: 1323

    i use to like this little phone i had back in the day

  33. #33
    Microphone
    The Voice of SBR
    Microphone's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 01-08-08
    Posts: 1,914

    702 Down 43.2 Up
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/26/2020

    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/23/2020

    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 11/19/2020


  34. #34
    grease lightnin
    &
    grease lightnin's Avatar SBR PRO
    Join Date: 10-01-12
    Posts: 15,633
    Betpoints: 1049

    This morning 202 up, 205 down

  35. #35
    Hman
    All Of My Kindness Is Taken For Weakness
    Hman's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date: 11-04-17
    Posts: 18,314
    Betpoints: 118

    Can you guys add the provider you're using plz, to compare

123 Last
Top