austintx05
    austintx05's Avatar Become A Pro!

Flat Betting : What is your stand?

I have always flat bet, in my short 2 years of wagering on sports. As many of you know, I am fairly new at this compared to the veterans, but the reason I have always flat bet is because the day you go 1-1, you still have the potential to be down money if the 1 loss you have was a 2+unit play vs the 1 unit winner. I also realize that there are certain pays that might warrant a multiple unit wager and have read some thoughts at other sites that are felt to be leaving money on the table.

So as a rookie to the sports betting world, I would like to hear your thoughts on this issue.

Thanks

Justin7
    Justin7's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1506

If you are new to sportsbetting, stick to flat betting.

When you become proficient at handicapping, that is a good time to change to various unit-sized betting. While handicapping helps you find value in places, finding lines that are off does also. If you liked Pittsburgh -7 this week, and found Pitt -6.5, wouldn't you bet more?

TLD
    TLD's Avatar Become A Pro!

The reason I have always flat bet is because the day you go 1-1, you still have the potential to be down money.

First thing: When you realize something you’re doing in sportsbetting is motivated by a rule like this, examine the rule itself to see if it’s justified.

So you want to use a betting system where if you bet multiple games and win at least 50% of them, it isn’t possible to lose (other than a little juice). Why? Can you show logically, mathematically, that you will do better over the long run adhering to such a system than you would do with a system that violates this rule?

Or is it purely a psychological thing—the “feeling” of going 1-1 and losing bothers you more than the prospect of going 1-1 and winning pleases you? Something just doesn’t seem right about it?