JayLA
    On to the next one...
    JayLA's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1219

comparing bettor psychology between different kinds of "outs"

Had a interesting conversation between friends, wanted to kno what you all thought.

Im comparing offshore betting with your 'money up front-heres a ticket' local bookie. I find I make much smarter bets when I have to drive to the shop, put money down first. I dont even consider parlays, teasers, etc.

It might because im a novice bettor but that instant access i have with offshore, made for stupid bets I regret. It seems to me that when using an offshore account, you start thinking of ur money as a digital number...not actual currency. Play money if u will. Also, offshore books swear the money is theirs once you deposit....and its not.

I also compare a 'ticket' bookie with the 'settle once a week' kind. My friend says he findself making chase bets so he owes less.

What do u all think?

Wilfred
    Wilfred's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 528

No doubt that people bet more and get on tilt when they just see a digital number. Bad emotions after a brutal loss and 30 seconds later the damage could be done.

str
    Nothing's easy
    str's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 68207

Anytime you have to put cash up before the start most will keep it real.

Living out of your pocket , you only go all in once. Unless you are sick, eating bread and butter until the next paycheck sees to that.

CC companies figured this out in the 60s-70s and the rest is history.

Good thread. Hopefully some in here will see this and avoid getting caught "speeding".

dfish
    Sea Pines
    dfish's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 181

Quote Originally Posted by JayLA View Post
    Had a interesting conversation between friends, wanted to kno what you all thought.