mdemps9190
    mdemps9190's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 7237

Quote Originally Posted by cleaveland View Post
    "Theoretically, any stock can go to zero, since prices are a function of investor demand. If no one wants to own a stock, you can't sell it at any price."

http://news.google.com/newspapers?ni...g=1907,6767963

I won this argument hands down but I won't gloat because it wasn't a big deal really.
    Dude it's unbelievable the lack of grasp you have on the markets. I do this for a living as well, and can say first hand, nobody half-smart would basically bet all their money on an IPO. That along with the liquidity factors would make it very difficult for your point to be correct.

Also any stock really couldn't go to zero. Regardless of demand, even when a company files bankruptcy their value of revenue alone would keep the stock from going to zero because PE buyers would vulture anything that came close to zero. So no matter how much anyone hates Intel, their intellectual property alone is worth more than that, and the stock price would never actually touch zero in a real world. Thats like saying that the efficient market hypothesis is real. Yes, theoretically stocks should have all information priced in at any given time, but that obviously isn't the case in practice.

You need to study a massive amount on how the market works if you think its as simple as that. Sports betting is somewhat similar, but as most have said, its all or nothing. You can't get 20% back on your investment if a team loses, but only loses by 1 point less than the spread or something. The only comparable financial instrument would be a binary option, where it's all or nothing in your payoff if your strike price is hit.

Now rethink the fact that you "won this argument" and PLEASE if you have any questions, think about how intelligent they are for 30 minutes before you post.

slatter
    slatter's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by cleaveland View Post