daggerkobe
    UCONN PK MICH PK PROVIDENCE +2
    daggerkobe's Avatar Become A Pro!

Does anyone play at Pokerstars or Fulltiltpoker?

I just started playing at their play money tables and was wondering what would be the point of winning $50k or $100k fake money? Can you trade them in for prizes or is it just for bragging rights?

I.R.B
    I.R.B's Avatar Become A Pro!

It for Free play... Thats it... the more Free chips you get the higher risk tables you can play at... No prize but there are free turnys you can play at to win real money only thing is you would have to win or come in 3rd or better in 3 turnys with about 100 people each turny.

Mudcat
    Mudcat's Avatar Become A Pro!

I play at Pokerstars some.

There is very little point to the play money tables other than just getting used to the lay of the land. People don't play properly at them - they are unnaturally loose and silly with their betting - so you can't gauge how well you're playing.

If you can't win at the play money tables, just turn away from poker and never look back.

Bragging rights for large play money balances? There probably are people who look at it that way. It seems like a lot of wasted time to me but I'm sure it is an ongoing hobby for some people.

SBR Founder Join Date: 7/21/2005

LVHerbie
    LVHerbie's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 1173

you used to be able to sell play money for a few bucks if you got to several million or whatever... it was through third party sites and I don't know if they still allow it or not... if I was in your position and wanted to try out the site I would try freerolls or just deposit like ten dollars and play at the lowest micro stakes....Poker isn't poker without having some monetary risk/reward involved...

SBR Bash
    Punta Cana
    Attendee 1/31/2015

SBR Founder Join Date: 9/15/2005

LVHerbie
    LVHerbie's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 1173

Quote Originally Posted by Mudcat View Post
    I play at Pokerstars some.