Blax0r
    Blax0r's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1512

Gambling skills/knowledge helped me land a new job

Long post ahead; the first and last paragraphs are really all you need to read imo.

I'm a very small fish here at SBR, but I just want to give an overall thank you to everyone for the things I've learned so far while being entertained with ridiculous posts/videos/promotions.

A little about me: I'm a software engineer for the 3rd or 4th largest financial data provider in the world, and have been experiencing career dissatisfaction. I typically spend my time creating a windows applications that do things like fix text formatting or pull data in Excel (we work with the Excel API a lot). No real analysis of data; just taking static information and displaying it to the user. In addition, my general math skills started to deteriorate; a good portion of software developers are actually very poor at numerical reasoning (so don't let the nerd "arrogance" get to you).

As an EE major from semi-prestigious schools, I am far more passionate about engineering mathematics, which includes things like signal processing, probability math, and stats. In contrast, my work involved 0 math, and decisions were made through people's opinions rather than hard facts and stats (whoever screams the loudest gets it his/her way). However, Seeing the same type of math reappear for sports forecasting is seriously amazing; going home to work on my small tennis data scraper and model (I slightly modified a paper by some harvard prof) was, and will remain to be, a great escape.