bigboydan
    bigboydan's Avatar Become A Pro!

Saban offers help to Ricky Williams

Saban offers help to Dolphins' troubled running back

By MICHAEL MAROT, AP Sports Writer
    February 24, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Miami Dolphins coach Nick Saban is offering his support to troubled running back Ricky Williams.

In his first comments about Williams' latest failed drug test, Saban said Friday he wanted to help Williams stay clean, avoid any additional trouble and help the NFL keep drug tests confidential as required by league rules.

"We want to support every player, and I think every player knows he has a responsibility for what to do and what not to do," Saban said. "As a coach, I also feel a responsibility to put a player in the best situation possible so he can have success."

Saban lauded Williams' performance last season and was upset he even had to address the issue at the NFL's annual scouting combine.

In his opening remarks, Saban asked the media to respect the league's rules, and after persistent questioning, Saban became testy in his responses.

He appeared most upset by the fact word leaked out about Williams' latest test. The results are being appealed, but no ruling is expected until April.

Saban insisted he would work with the league office to assure other players' results remain confidential.

"We all have a professional responsibility as clubs to live by the confidentiality rules, which are designed to protect players," Saban said. "However the information got out, I hope those people will take that responsibility and let us make any necessary changes. ... I'm going to be proactive in that effort."

Saban said he has talked to Williams, who is on a retreat in India, but has not asked the former rushing champ to return to the U.S. to deal with the situation. He declined to discuss the nature of his conversation.