outdrawed
    outdrawed's Avatar Become A Pro!

Teaser Question: Math Class

I'm very new to sports betting so I am not skilled in the ways of calculating this stuff. I'm crossposting this from another forum I post at. Any help is appreciated.

I'm looking at a 6 pt 2-team teaser right now. One of the teams, however would be the Eagles +3 (-130).

Now, obviously I know that teasing across the zero is bad bad bad. My question is, since -3.0 (-130) is effectively -3.5 (-104), I'm getting close to 6.5 points for this teaser as I get the same 10/11 odds regardless of the vig of the games I'm teasing.

How can I go about calculating whether or not this is worth it?

Actually, I have another question.

A 6.5 pt two-team teaser pays out 5/6. That's worth 10 cents more than a 6 pt teaser. If I do the 6.5 pt teaser, I get paid a little less, but I cross the 3. It doesn't help me nearly as much in my other game. (Bears +2/+8.5), but I'm wondering if it'd be better to do a 6.5 pt teaser instead.

Ganchrow
    Nolite te bastardes carborundorum.
    Ganchrow's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1088

Quote Originally Posted by outdrawed View Post
    I'm very new to sports betting so I am not skilled in the ways of calculating this stuff. I'm crossposting this from another forum I post at. Any help is appreciated.

I'm looking at a 6 pt 2-team teaser right now. One of the teams, however would be the Eagles +3 (-130).

Now, obviously I know that teasing across the zero is bad bad bad. My question is, since -3.0 (-130) is effectively -3.5 (-104), I'm getting close to 6.5 points for this teaser as I get the same 10/11 odds regardless of the vig of the games I'm teasing.

How can I go about calculating whether or not this is worth it?
    There's of course no way to calculate this from first principles, rather you'd need to look at the historical record and/or an NFL score distribution model.