Nittany Lion
    Nittany Lion's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 675

Can someone explain this 4 team teaser to me?

I'm a newbie and I just got into sports betting and I'm not doing any serious betting, just small stakes. I created an account on Bodog a few days ago and this weekend I did my first betting. I've been reading about all the different bets, but I do not understand the 4 team teaser bet listed below.

What I don't understand is how come my bet did not lose as soon as the Jets/Ravens game was over? I had Ravens vs. Jets at over 23 and the final score of the game added to 19 (10+9). But for whatever reason, my bet stayed open. Is it because part of my 4 team teaser bet had the Ravens at +14? If that is the case, I thought the total game score was separate from the spread amount. So are you suppose to add the spread amount to the final scores in order to find out if you predicted the game over/under correctly? So for my bet you would add the +14 to the Ravens score which would make the final outcome be Ravens 24 Jets 9, which would make the total game score 33 which is > then 23, so is this why my bet stayed open? I thought that when you bet the over/under for a game you do not factor in the spread amount.

My bet was not classified as a loss until the Chiefs/Chargers game was over and I understand that it lost because I had chargers at +7 and the final score was Chiefs 21 Chargers 14 and since my bet was categorized as a "sweetheart teaser" there cannot be a push or you automatically lose.

Code:
    4 Team Teaser
    Football - NFL Lines (Game) Point Spread
    WEEK 1
    (479) Baltimore Ravens +14 Mon@5:00p
    Teased 13.0 points

Final Scores
    Baltimore Ravens 10
    New York Jets 9

Football - NFL Lines (Game) Total
    WEEK 1
    (479) Baltimore Ravens vs. (480) New York Jets Over 23 Mon@5:00p
    Teased 13.0 points

Final Scores
    Baltimore Ravens 10
    New York Jets 9

Football - NFL Lines (Game) Point Spread
    WEEK 1