BunnyMan
    BunnyMan's Avatar Become A Pro!

Question about betting baseball

I am a complete noob when it comes to bases. When it says -150 or +130 what does this mean? How would one calculate this?

LT Profits
    LT Profits's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5179

If you bet the favorite, you risk $150 to win $100.

If you bet the underdog, you risk $100 to win $130.

A line of -150/+130 is called a 20-cent line because that is the difference between the favorite and underdog price. Try and find some reduced juice lines to increase your chances or winning. (i.e., 5 Dimes has a NICKEL line overnight and a 10-cent line throughout the day)

jgilmartin
    jgilmartin's Avatar Become A Pro!

In addition to what LT said, every moneyline (-150 / +130 is an example of 'moneyline' odds) has an implied probability attached to it. When you bet on a moneyline, you are essentially saying that you think the team's chance of winning is higher than the implied probability of the price you are paying. For example:

The Yankees opened at -320, which translates to 76.19%. You would only ever bet the Yankees at -320 if you thought they had a greater than 76.19% chance of winning. SBR has a calculator here http://sbrforum.com/Betting+Tools/Odds+Converter.aspx - enter the moneyline price in the 'US Odds' box and click 'Convert'. This will give you the implied probability.

unusialsusp5
    unusialsusp5's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 3601

adding to this only bet + teams especially baseball road team +'s or you will end up with - amounts of money.

lawsofpower48
    lawsofpower48's Avatar Become A Pro!

betting baseball is EASY.... good money too, but risk is more then some other sports

IdHitThat
    IdHitThat's Avatar Become A Pro!

baseball betting is fun!
    Covers.com is a good site for information.
    BOL

warriorfan707
    SBR Poster of the Milennium
    warriorfan707's Avatar Become A Pro!