Prior
    Prior's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 305

Cashing Out

I'm considering cashing out my total bank value on a particular site I'm on. I've never cashed out before, as I'm relatively new to online gambling. The amount I'm cashing out is about a grand.

My question is if I were to receive a personal check would it be in my best interest to get the amount in cash, as opposed to depositing into my bank account (or does it even make a difference). This question is due to IRS reporting. Are banks required, when a customer cashes a check of significant value, to report this to the IRS?

I'm not even sure if this sort of check would be considered income. Ideally it wouldn't be, as I receive a fair amount of federal subsidies for my health insurance. Thanks for any help that can be provided.

Optional
    Optional's Avatar Moderator
    Betpoints: 9137

Quote Originally Posted by Prior View Post
    I'm considering cashing out my total bank value on a particular site I'm on. I've never cashed out before, as I'm relatively new to online gambling. The amount I'm cashing out is about a grand.

My question is if I were to receive a personal check would it be in my best interest to get the amount in cash, as opposed to depositing into my bank account (or does it even make a difference). This question is due to IRS reporting. Are banks required, when a customer cashes a check of significant value, to report this to the IRS?

I'm not even sure if this sort of check would be considered income. Ideally it wouldn't be, as I receive a fair amount of federal subsidies for my health insurance. Thanks for any help that can be provided.
    There is no automatic reporting for a check of that size. 10,000 is the number most people seem to think triggers automatic reporting.

If your book offers bitcoin you might find it better to get setup with that right away and avoid the delays and dealing with your bank for checks.

Prior
    Prior's Avatar Become A Pro!