Thefunkiehippie
    Thefunkiehippie's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 558

My local bookie

I had a question for all you guys that place bets with local bookies. I am fairly new to this and have found a guy through the local watering hole to take my bets. He is this old guy and sends me lines for whatever about a hour before the games that I ask for. I then send him my picks. BUT right before game time, I may get a feeling or read public sentiment and either up a bet or withdrawal a bet. In the local bookie industry, is this allowed? he is telling me that it is not allowed and that once a bet is in, it is in. But, If my wife tells me that I have to go out wiht her on Sunday and i put in 4 bets on Football and I am not going to watch the games, I cant withdrawal it. OR if i want to increase it my bet from 50 to 100 on a team, he sends me a new line and tells me the line moved. he doesn't send the bets anywhere because i am small, so that is not the issue. also, he tells me that I am his only client right now and he is trying to get out of the biz, so i know money is not moving his line. his lines move on air based on Vegas trends and he tells me that if i want to increase a bet from a line bet on 1 hour before, i need to request a new line. should i get a new bookie or is this guy right in moving his lines around on me on air in the 60 minutes between line and kickoff.

Easy-Rider 66
    Easy-Rider 66's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 3229

Withdrawing wagers is not something a bookie will want to do on a regular basis. He might make an exception, but do not expect on the regular. And if you see a line moving and want to increase your bet, most likely his line has moved as well if he's in touch with his business. Where I would be concerned is if it seems he is shading favs/dogs based on your betting patterns. Knew some people who used to book and they would add points to the favorite because one of their particular customers was a big Favorite player. GL.

delldog