WSBetter
    WSBetter's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 366

Worth it to bet ML on Huge Favorites?

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question, I'm new to betting on basketball specifically. But how often do teams that are favorites by the degree of -800 to -3000 lose a game? Assuming that I only bet on favorites that I feel are doing well at the moment on the ML is it still bound to be a loss betting like this in the long run?

jeffries
    jeffries's Avatar Become A Pro!

It's not even worth it. its pocket change. Bet $100 on the Boston Celtics ML tomorrow to beat the Bobcats and they will pay you like what.... $7.00? Why even risk that kind of money for pocket change? The only time you want to bet an underdog ML is when the underdog really has a chance.. Detroit is an underdog tomorrow V Dallas.. Thats worth an underdog ML Purchase

Or even try the NY Giants ML over the Dallas Cowboys. Thats a ML where the Giants are very capable of defeating the Dallas Cowboys. With the line at Dallas -9, you'll make some great cash should the Giants win

fearless
    fearless's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by WSBetter View Post
    Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question, I'm new to betting on basketball specifically. But how often do teams that are favorites by the degree of -800 to -3000 lose a game? Assuming that I only bet on favorites that I feel are doing well at the moment on the ML is it still bound to be a loss betting like this in the long run?
    With those kinds of favorites, you have to look at who the team is. The Spurs being -800 favorites means a lot more to me than a .500 team being a -800 favorite. Why? Because the Spurs are dominant and they have a habit of winning like 70% of all their games, much less when they're a huge favorite. Winning and losing gets in the DNA and becomes a part of you, I believe.

Crayzee
    Crayzee's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 9053