jsmanuel
    jsmanuel's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 85

Thoughts on regulation time bets?

I'm new to betting hockey. But it seems to me that -0.5 in regulation time on the favorite would be a +EV bet in the long run considering that the favorite *should* win the majority of the time.

What am I missing here? Vegas surely wouldn't give us the edge.

Locke
    Locke's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 2444

in my experience, if the dog shows up to play you are often looking at a tied game late in the third. for example in both calgary and detroit last night i had the reg bet..was fortunate to hit both without needing ot. if a dog has a two goal lead going into the third or are even up by one you will probably lose. i make a lot of regulation plays, but should probably be more selective

loads of games go to overtime. not sure the exact percentage, but it's high. if your book offers it, i recommend the -0.5 &-1 (one bet) that includes ot

jsmanuel

Ok thanks for the insight. I'm definitely doing to research this more.

Hudini
    Hudini's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1219

60% of time favorites win, but in regulation probably under 50%. More selectivity could give you some +. Winnipeg and Calgary last knight help me on this. Lucky with Calgary. Just try to find anything over +100

cboogie
    cboogie's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 452

Dallas

terrortwylight
    Get Action
    terrortwylight's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 756

I have been making a lot of regulation bets lately on high priced favorites. The odds make them a lot more palatable. I will tell you that I have lost a lot of those bets because the game went to OT. I don't know if it's just bad luck or the way it goes. But overall, I'm up on the season, so I'm a fan of doing it.

jsmanuel