Kelvar
    Kelvar's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 144

Newbie question

Hey all, I've noticed bdc30's posts here, and a few things are baffling me. I come from Europe, and I don't understand what his picks mean exactly.

For instance, here's his last post:

Coyotes -106
    Kings -0.5 in reg +100
    Redwings +108
    Flyers +105
    Capitals -0.5 in reg +115
    Canadiens -106
    Bruins -1.5 goals +115
    Lightning -0.5 in reg +112
    Ducks -148
    Blues -159
    Sharks -0.5 in reg -122

Now I'm new to bets and all, but what does -106 mean? Or -0.5 in reg +100? Either american betting is different than what we have over here (1X2 etc)or I'm missing something. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

bdc30
    bdc30's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 590

-106 (for example) means the amount you have to risk to win 100

If it's minus, you have to risk the extra (if you're using a $100 unit for example, you would risk $106 to win 100 on Phoenix). On the flip side, if it's plus (such as Redwings +108), then you would risk $100 to win $108.

-0.5 in reg is a handicap bet, where you're taking the team to win the game in regulation time (not including overtime or shootouts) and giving up a half a goal. If the game gets to overtime, this bet loses.

Hope that helps.

Kelvar

bdc30: thanks for the quick reply, so basically you're just (mostly) giving the odds while not actually giving out a tip about the outcome? How is this different than checking the odds on a betting site?

bdc30
    bdc30's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 590

Those are my picks for the games tomorrow. I maintain my thread as a way to track my results and motivate myself to be diligent with keeping records. If anyone wants to fade or follow, that's their decision. I enjoy reading the different opinions of the posters here, and have backed a number of bets I've picked up in the various forums.

ZdenoK
    ZdenoK's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5733

Kings-0.5 in reg +100