Can someone explain why league averages are essential to take into account

cant grasp this concept, if someone would clear it up I would appreciate it

when calculating the expected pace of an NBA game instead of

Currently I like to use (TeamAOPace+TeamBDPace)/2

but I guess that is not acceptable

Jive
    Jive's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 142

You have to account for the competition that those paces were set against, for one thing. But as an example, if two teams are playing each other and they both have a pace significantly higher than the league average, chances are very strong that they will play at a pace higher than the average of the two teams. This needs to be built into your calculations. Know what I mean? I'm having difficulty putting it into words. Sorry. Too dang tired.

dmolition
    dmolition's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 228

Im no expert and i'm still tinkering with formulas, but as i see it, comparing against the league average gives u an understanding of how much better or worse each team is to the rest of the league on any given stat, also most teams in many stats tend to reverse to the mean, so applying the league average to some stats helps you account for times where teams where over-perfoming or under-perfoming.

Im not sure if i explained myself well enough or if this is all there is to it, but hope it can help fwiw.

MadTiger
    Wait 'til next year!
    MadTiger's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 47

I ran a 15.

Is that great, horrible, or just average?

You won't know unless you know the league average.

pedro803
    pedro803's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5708

I can't answer your question but I will give my thougts -- it is important to realize (as I am sure most of us do) that league average (LA) and strength of schedule (SOS) are very different

first off SOS will be different for the two teams so it can straight up and objectively and almost on its own indicate an edge for one team or the other