TMoney33
    Sanchez Blows It: YES -2000
    TMoney33's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 492

NFL Arbitrage Opportunity?

Hello,

I am still relatively new to sportsbetting in general, and am just starting to learn the more advanced concepts, but I think I found an arbitrage opp.

Carib
    NE (+115)

Bodog
    SD -3 (+115)

Here's the way I figure the math for a $100 bet on each:
    SD loses: Bodog -$100, Carib +$115 = +$15
    SD wins by 1-2: Bodog -$100, Carib -$100 = -$200
    SD wins by 3: Bodog $0, Carib -$100 = -$100
    SD wins by 4+: Bodog +$115, Carib -$100 = +$15

So the way it looks to me is that unless SD wins by 1-3 points, I am guaranteed a profit of $15 on every $100 bet.

Am I missing something, or is this correct?
    Last edited by TMoney33; 10-24-10 at 12:31 AM. Reason: Correctio

tomcowley
    tomcowley's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 6786

You're correct (well, the second category I'm sure you meant SD by 1-2 and not 1-3). Now play with the percentages from the half-point calculator and see if this is actually a good idea.

TMoney33

Thanks Tom,

I corrected that. I thought this was an arb opp, but I'd never actually seen one before. I figured that I must be missing something. Thanks for letting me know that I had something here. I will check out the calculator you suggested. Thanks again.

I also just saw the DSI has the ML for NE @ +115 too.

subs
    subs's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 969

hi i'm new as well, but as far as i know this is called a reverse middle or a polish middle. what you need to work out, by using push chart/calculator, is what the % is for all of the outcomes that you wrote out above. you will need the total for the game to do this.

then you can see if you expect to make money, expected value is.

i don't like it but this is just a noobs thoughts. take with extra pinches of salt.

BOL

RonPaul2008
    Update your status
    RonPaul2008's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 243569