lyon804
    lyon804's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1011

Computer Modeling and Data Mining

I am looking to build a database and create models that do basically what I have been doing manually for the last 10+ yrs. I enjoy handicapping and the challenge of it, but I see the need to branch out into something that is more efficient. Basically, my goal is to input what I know into a model to gain more +EV opportunities over large numbers. Currently, I still work a traditional job but I am self employed which allows for more time and freedom to do what I really enjoy doing which is sports handicapping.

I respect many of you here and know that you are past what I am trying to accomplish in regards to modeling and data mining. I respect those that already have this bulit and are currently grinding out profits over several sports I understand.

Without giving me the golden egg please tell me some general things. For example. Were did you get your data? How far back is relevant/irrelevant? What kind of software or program did you build or did you buy something canned?

Any general information would be very well appreciated.

Thanks in advance to all that contribute to the think tank.

MrX
    MrX's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by lyon804 View Post
    Without giving me the golden egg please tell me some general things. For example. Were did you get your data?
    That depends on the sport and what kind of data you want. For baseball game-data, look no further than retrosheet.org. Most other sports present more of a challenge. You're going to have to learn how to scrape websites to get the more useful data.

How far back is relevant/irrelevant?