clarkacal
    clarkacal's Avatar Become A Pro!

Data snooping

I'm relatively new to sports betting but not new to gambling. I have always taken an analytical approach through research and data analysis, but I was worried about data snooping when collecting data from previous years to find profitable betting strategies. I was wondering how big of a problem it is and at what point is the sample size large enough to be reliable?

Wojo
    Wojo's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 9513

I don't understand what you mean by data snooping.

clarkacal

When you think you've found parameters which have +ev but turn out to be only +ev for a specific set of data and not necessarily for future data

mathdotcom
    mathdotcom's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1943

This is the classic question in inference and it does not have a universal answer.

Depends on the sport, whether the rules changed recently [hockey lockout, steroid crackdown], etc. etc.

You will never know if something that has been profitable every year til now will be profitable in 2010.

yankeerick
    yankeerick's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 79

clarkacal

Mathdotcom I understand u cant be sure, that's why it's gambling. But what I'm wondering is whether the initial theory is simply a result of that particular data or is it from a large enough sample that it can be expected to repeat with approximately the same results.
    For example on a game with known odds such as craps (but you didn't know the odds you were just testing data)you gathered data from 5000 rolls of the dice.

theory a: a seven rolls more than an 8 at 6.25:5 and a seven rolls more than a 6 at 5.75:5

theory b: first time left handed female shooters have an average roll of 7.75 so you should place the high numbers