Joe Dogs
    Joe Dogs's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 593

Gambling info

Theres allot of sharp posters here......I was curious to know how you went about
    becoming a profitable gambler,self taught,hanging with other sharps?

How long did it take you to realize that you could beat this thing and show
    a long term profit?

sharpcat
    sharpcat's Avatar Become A Pro!

12 years of gambling but did not really start to see any consistent profits till the last 3 years, so roughly 9 years in the apprenticeship program .

Self taught by reading countless books, studying lines, trends, mathematics, and of course sports for countless hours for years!!!! and most importantly learning how to manage my bankroll, only betting when I have value and staying far away from sucker bets.

Jive
    Jive's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 142

Trial & error, tracking everything I possibly could (from my end, like which bets were profitable long-term, which teams blew for me, etc), and reading as much info as I could, but assuming everything I read was crap until I verified it myself.

Yi
    Yi's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 16

Quote Originally Posted by sharpcat View Post
    12 years of gambling but did not really start to see any consistent profits till the last 3 years, so roughly 9 years in the apprenticeship program .

Self taught by reading countless books, studying lines, trends, mathematics, and of course sports for countless hours for years!!!! and most importantly learning how to manage my bankroll, only betting when I have value and staying far away from sucker bets.
    What a great post. I have been a losing player for most of life until I started managing my bankroll and paying close attention to the lists of things mentioned in SharpCat's quote.

I would also suggest digging up Ganchrow's threads from this Forum and read them atleast 10x.

mminkovski
    mminkovski's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 17525