nomadcrypto
    nomadcrypto's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 36

bet sizing with an edge

Hi, this is my first post here. First I'd like to say I wasn't a sports bettor until a few days ago when I started live testing a model I developed for NBA spreads. I'm primarily a software developer and have been mainly focused on machine learning and statistical analysis. I was browsing kaggle(a community of data scientists and machine learners) and found a rather messy NBA dataset which included moneylines and spreads for some 15k games. I cleaned the dataset up and scraped some more info including player/team advanced stats as well as totals lines. After working on it for a while I developed a binary classifier that works really well in back testing. The output from the classifier is in the form of a list of probabilities like this [0.3, 0.7] as an example. The prediction is the index of the largest number(1 in the example case). The output probabilities aren't very well calibrated. For example, over the validation data(last 2500 games) the brier score was 0.305 and pinnacle's brier score over that same sample(using the implied probabilities) was 0.251. The model's output probabilities aren't very well calibrated but still the higher the probability the higher the accuracy rate but not at a 1:1. The back test results were pretty promising given the difficulty of the task. The accuracy rate over 2500x sample games that I held out for validation data/back testing was ~64%. Here is the "classification report"(sklearn) for the validation data:

Code:
    validation report:
                  precision    recall  f1-score   support   

0       0.64      0.67      0.65      1281   
               1       0.63      0.61      0.62      1219   

micro avg       0.64      0.64      0.64      2500   
       macro avg       0.64      0.64      0.64      2500   
    weighted avg       0.64      0.64      0.64      2500