kfranz31
    kfranz31's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 1914

value wagers......what are they exactly

i am new to the world of sports betting and asked several people about value plays.......the object of ever wager i make is to win regardless if my wager is a plus money line a... a minus moneyline or a minus 110 bet...to me the only value is the one that lets me cash..the one that dont let you cash have no value//unless it burns slowly and you can roll your weed in it

gooner89
    gooner89's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 13003

Quote Originally Posted by kfranz31 View Post
    value wagers......what are they exactly
    the object of ever wager i make is to win

This is true in an ideal world. Problem is, we don't live in an ideal world. No wager is guaranteed. A value play is when a team is valued at a better price than they should be. For example, if a dog has a line of +150 but you think the game should be a bit closer, maybe +120, perhaps this is when a value play should be taken. You know that the favourites are maybe a better team but on the whole the game will be tight and this could be one where the dogs rise and take the game.

Martinr
    Martinr's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 21

Easiest way I can explain it is with the old coin toss analogy.
    You know the true chance of either side is:
    .500 (50%) or odds of +100.
    The books will offer you -110 (bad value. You are guaranteed to lose over time)
    You need to bet at odds of +110 (value. You are guaranteed to win over time)
    You obviously won't find +110 odds for a coin toss, but you will find +110 odds (or better) on a sports team.
    You need a prediction model that tells you when the team should be priced lower than the books have it.
    You will not win every bet, but with a disciplined staking approach and an accurate model you will come out ahead over time.
    Sorry if that isn't as clear as it should be. The concept is fairly straightforward.