usma1992
    usma1992's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 2268

Mathematical Sports Teaser Question... could use insight...

My degree is in electrical engineer so I have a math background but not good enough. Could use Insight...

I believe that I have a statistical model that can predict 58% of the time or great what the total score of two college football teams would be +/-7 points. For instance, on the North Texas/La Lafayette game my model came up with 47 points and the final score was 53 points. Vegas had the over under at 56 and so my model said to take the under.

Here is my question: If I truly am able to predict the outcome at a 58% certain using the standard line, using a teaser, how much does my probability go up and does it make sense? i.e. Of the 55 games this weekend my model says to bet 25 games because most of the are neutral. Tonight it says bet the Houston/SMU over 60 points. Which means my model is at least predicting 68 points or more. If I tease that 60 down to 53 points... what percentage do I have to hit to make up for the difference 65% or 70%...

I am not sure I worded the question, correctly... but I appreciate any response...

uvarunthetable
    uvarunthetable's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3474

I'm confused about the accuracy of your model-- Are you saying that 58% of the time you within 7 points (either + or -) of what the actual score ends up being?

InTheRed
    InTheRed's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 17656

With teasing, you're going to need to add something to the bet. I am not sure of any book that will offer a 1 team teaser.

By adding a 2nd item to the bet, you're EV is going to drop as will your 58% mark.

There are books that will allow you to buy points to help your number. The problem is that the juice on getting that number to move several pts is going to kill you in the long run.