MonkeyF0cker
    Update your status
    MonkeyF0cker's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1127

Attn: Justin Re: "Sum of two distributions"

Quote Originally Posted by Justin7 View Post
    In a 16 game season, you take the sum of two distributions. 8 games, p+0.1, added to 8 games, p-0.1.
    I'm talking about assigning a power ranking to each team. Give each team a ranking of 0 to 1, which is the probability of it beating an "average" team on a neutral field. The .1 adjustment (perhaps 0.09 is more accurate) is for HFA.

An average team with an average schedule have a distribution of Binom(8,0.6) + Binom(8,0.4). A good team (expected to win 12 games) would be Binom(8,0.85) + Binom(8,.65).
    Perhaps, I'm a little novice in my distribution mathematics and maybe your way is more efficient. Anyway, I'd like to find out but from what you stated in the Season Win Totals thread, it's unclear to me how you work out the addition of two binomials. Perhaps, you could enlighten me a little. For the sake of simplicity, let's assume that you have an average team with an average schedule (50% neutral field win expectancy) and use your HFA adjustment. So, assuming that there are 8 games for a team with a 60% chance of winning at home and 8 games with a 40% chance of winning on the road and I'm trying to find the odds that the team wins 8 games or more throughout the season, how would I add the two binomials in Excel? Am I supposed to use 1-BINOMDIST(8, 16, 0.6, TRUE) and 1-BINOMDIST(8, 16, 0.4, TRUE)? Or would I use 1-BINOMDIST(4, 8, 0.6, TRUE) and 1-BINOMDIST(4, 8, 0.4, TRUE)? Do I then simply add the probabilities together? Do I average them? What do I do?

Thanks.

Justin7
    Justin7's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1506

Quote Originally Posted by MonkeyF0cker View Post