Lirol
    Lirol's Avatar Become A Pro!

Do overlapping bets impact Kelly results?

I'm a newbie to sports betting, but I've utilized the SBR Kelly calculator (at half Kelly) for a few months to do my UFC betting with pretty good results. After cleaning UFC Brazil by winning 7/7 bets, I started wondering if Kelly formula is impacted by "overlapping" singles, doubles or trips, and this is where my probability math trips (pun!) up.

Example:

• Bet 1: single: Fighter A to win in Match 1 - I give this a 60% chance, decimal odds 2.875
    • Bet 2: double: Fighter A to win in Match 1 and Fighter B to win in Match 2 - I give this double a 36% chance and it has 5.15 decimal odds

Plugging in these numbers (0.5 Kelly, 2 Independent events) gives me 17.3% of bankroll for the first event, 7.5% to the second event.

Now my question is, would these percentages be different if Bet 2 was instead for Match 2 and Match 3, ie. if it is entirely independent from Bet 1? The reason I'm asking is that if Fighter A loses, I automatically lose both bets. But if those two bets don't overlap, I can lose the single but still win the double. I would imagine this should impact the Kelly results, but I have no idea where to start with those calcs.

Any pointers?

LT Profits
    LT Profits's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5179

You should enter the estimated odds of each of the two matches individually, and Kelly will yield the percentage to place on parlay. Do not enter Double odds as if it is one event.

Lirol

Quote Originally Posted by LT Profits View Post
    You should enter the estimated odds of each of the two matches individually, and Kelly will yield the percentage to place on parlay. Do not enter Double odds as if it is one event.