Ralphie Halves
    Ralphie Halves's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 15084

CFB betting angles I think are ridiculous. Feel free to add yours.

Starting to see these a lot. I think exposing them could help. I've been betting NCAAF for 10 years now, it's the only sport I do well semi-consistently. And I've learned how useless and often costly these angles can be.

1) "Trap Games" -- Every time somebody sees a good team as a short road favorite against a lesser team, something triggers in their brain and they say "Trap"!! No such thing. I have friends on the other side of the counter, and they laugh at this idea of a trap game. Just because you can remember the time that one favorite lost outright (ignoring the 4 out of 5 that week that won and covered), doesn't mean Vegas is trying to trick you. Think about it, how "tricky" is it when it happens every week, and you spot it right away? This year in particular, certain teams are just bigger, faster, and more well coached than others -- disproportionately so, so when I see them as a short road favorite, I've been pounding them, and winning often.

2) Historical records - Different than historical trends, those can be useful. But sensationalizing a stat by saying mentioning something that happened in 1998 is retarded. "Wack-Ass College has beaten Jizzmonkey State 16 out of the last 19 games on the road". That's great, but I am 100% sure that something that happened back in 1998 has Z-E-R-O bearing on what happens in this week's game. I promise. I got into this with BigDaddy a couple years back with PSU/Maryland when he was trying to use a junk stat like this, and I just saw blazer put one up today. Blazer puts a lot of things up in jest, so I never know if he's serious, but just don't take anything like that as real betting information.

3) Emotions - Pretty much whenever you hear phrases like...
    - "Revenge game"
    - "They're hungry!"
    - "They're playing for their coach"