Love The Action
    Love The Action's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3454

The question is if you are "book" smart or "street" smart. There were so many people that I graduated both college and obtained my advanced (professional) degree with that were smart in class, but dumb as dirt when it came to the real world. They could analyze a comprehensive problem with ease, but could not follow directions to get to the nearest bar or restaurant.

In sports investing, there is no doubt that the ability to comprehend and process the math involved is crucial. However, I would also say that a great LSAT score or whatever would not necessarily result in a great sports investor because there is more than "book" smarts that go into it.

While basic analytical skills are obviously necessary to be successful in this sports investing business, those skills do not necessarily have to be the result of a higher education. Therefore, the correlation between an ivy league eduction and successful sports investor is spurious at best.

God1
    God1's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by Love The Action View Post
    The question is if you are "book" smart or "street" smart. There were so many people that I graduated both college and obtained my advanced (professional) degree with that were smart in class, but dumb as dirt when it came to the real world. They could analyze a comprehensive problem with ease, but could not follow directions to get to the nearest bar or restaurant.

In sports investing, there is no doubt that the ability to comprehend and process the math involved is crucial. However, I would also say that a great LSAT score or whatever would not necessarily result in a great sports investor because there is more than "book" smarts that go into it.