DuncHen22
    DuncHen22's Avatar Become A Pro!

Opening Day Line Projections

I'm trying to project opening series lines. I've made 2 so far but it's a bit time consuming since it's my first try. I just wanted to see if anyone else has tried and/or what you think of mine.

I'm using a system based off what is outlined in the book "Conquering Risk" (can be found in the SBR Store). I am also trying a system based off the team's WARP. For simplicity's sake, I'll call the one from the book "System 1" and the one off the WARP "System 2."

Oh, and I'm basing the starting lineups and starting pitchers off Baseball Prospectus' depth charts.

System 1:
    DET @ NYY -163 (O/U 11.5)
    SD @ STL -139 (O/U 7.5)
    SD @ STL -176 (O/U 7)

System 2:
    NYY -164
    STL -136
    STL -162

(System 2 does not predict totals).

Thoughts? Comments? Input?

EDIT: See post 3 for explanation of line change.
    Last edited by DuncHen22; 03-27-11 at 10:08 PM.

gambling god
    gambling god's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 677

Post the confirmed starters for Thursday i will give you a projected line so far i have Angels -131 at Kanas City with Weaver versus Hochevar

DuncHen22

DET v NYY will be Verlander v Sabathia

I'll have to redo the SD v STL game though because I had Latos in and I just read he's out and the starter will be Stauffer. Carpenter will be pitching for the Cards.

EDIT:

With Stauffer in, System 1's projection goes up to -176 (O/U 7) for STL. System 2 goes up to just -162, but as of now I trust System 1 more as it is proven.
    Last edited by DuncHen22; 03-27-11 at 10:08 PM.

DuncHen22

Hmmm.... I got LAA -110... Any idea as to why the discrepency? You mind sharing your projected lineups? Here's mine:

LAA:
    Bourjos
    Abreu
    Hunter
    Morales
    Wells
    Kendrick
    Callaspo
    Mathis
    Aybar

KC:
    Cain
    Aviles
    Butler
    Ka'aihue
    Gordon
    Fancoeur
    Escobar
    Kendall
    Getz