gamblingisfun
    I'm a 'handicapper'...
    gamblingisfun's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 8632

If I know for sure I can beat the closer on lines, how hard should I go on betting?

Found a local who doesn't change his lines throughout the week, creating value on one side of the spread. There's tons of talk about beating the closing line on here, but I'm not an expert about it. Am I to believe that if I basically blindly bet each and every line that is off (like he has -1, when the market has -3.5) that I'll more than likely come out ahead?

CGBatch
    CGBatch's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5978

I'm not exactly an expert but I'd use the sbr half point calculator to see what edge you have and then use kelly to see how much to bet.

HeeeHAWWWW
    HeeeHAWWWW's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 578

Quote Originally Posted by gamblingisfun View Post
    Found a local who doesn't change his lines throughout the week, creating value on one side of the spread. There's tons of talk about beating the closing line on here, but I'm not an expert about it. Am I to believe that if I basically blindly bet each and every line that is off (like he has -1, when the market has -3.5) that I'll more than likely come out ahead?
    Bluntly, yes. You just need to make sure you have enough advantage to cover the juice.

HUY
    HUY's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3257

Hurry up because that guy is either wising up or going out of business.

gamblingisfun
    I'm a 'handicapper'...

He's a friend of a friend who said he wants to try being a bookie haha, I'm gonna take him for all he's got that I feel comfortable risking. My two HUGE advantage plays were stl +7.5 -110 and Mia +3.5 -110. Too bad I only put 20 bucks on each just to see if this guy is even gonna pay and is legit

theclutch7
    theclutch7's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 49

SF MONEY LINE!!!

wantitall4moi
    wantitall4moi's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3834