jjayoliver82
    jjayoliver82's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 24

Choosing a Sports Handicapper

Greetings,

I’m new to handicapping and was interested in hiring the services of a capper on a year long subscription as an investment. I have been following the 2016 leaderboards and was excited by the units won and ROI from the leading cappers. I was all ready to subscribe to the current leader (Teddy Davis), then I discovered that last years overall winner (Rocky Sheridan) wasn’t on the leaderboard and I can only assume is in the negative for units. I guess what I am asking is:

- How likely is it that a handicapper on the current leaderboard could have finish in the red (or finish say with no more than 200-300 units)?
    - What is an average/good amount of units for a year?
    - Is there somewhere I can find overall and individual leaderboards for the last 5 years. I was thinking this would allow me to select a handicapper that has consistently finished well and in profits (I have looked, but can’t seem to find it anywhere, only for 2016. Does anyone have them on record perhaps?)
    - Is it even possible to choose a handicapper that consistently posts a profit?

Any help greatly appreciated

Bill Dozer
    @BillDozer110
    Bill Dozer's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 21705

Welcome JJ,
    I think all of your questions depend on how many units they are betting. If someone has a 100 unit play then no tellin how much they could lose. A unit should really be one play's worth. A lot of cappers go with novelty amounts of units for play of the day/mo/yr etc.

I dont think there is a documented handicapper up over 5 years. Someone can correct me. Not that there aren't winners but most of them are spending their time betting.

Mike Brenner
    is here at SBR and does a show daily on SBRvideo.com. He's tearing it up right now. He and Peter Loshak interview the cappers on your leaderboard list and get their picks and insight.

downsouth
    Bobbywaves is a stiff