Now the nominees for the Bronko Nagurski Award have been announced, it’s time for SBR Forum to do what is does best – talk odds.

Our oddsmakers have put out this college football prop on the nation’s top defensive honor. 

2010 Bronko Nagurski Defensive Player of the Year Award Winner:Justin Houston of Georgia is favored over Nick Fairley of Auburn

Da'Quan Bowers    11/2

Nick Fairley           3/1

Justin Houston       7/4

Luke Kuechly         8/1

Patrick Peterson   11/2

Currently, our Oddsmaker Steve Ricci favors Justin Houston of Georgia at 7/4 to take home the trophy on December 6th. Houston leads the SEC in sacks and has been a menace for Georgia all season. 

“We have Houston over Nick Fairley of Auburn to win the award based on his outstanding play and his recent player of the week honors,” says Ricci. “We believe he is getting stronger, while Fairley will face more pressure down the stretch because of the Tigers’ BCS title quest.”

Fairley is listed at 3/1 odds and it’s possible voters will stay away completely from the Auburn program in light of the Cam Newton investigation.

Clemson’s Da’Quan Bowers and LSU’s Patrick Peterson are next at 11/2 odds to win the Bronko Nagurski Award. Bowers alternates sides on the defense for the Tigers and leads the nation in sacks. Meanwhile, Peterson has been electrifying on special teams and has been a shutdown corner the entire season, racking up three interceptions.

The real longshot in the group is Boston College sophomore Luke Kuechly. His stats are incredibly impressive, but second year players generally don’t get a sniff at this trophy. Throw in the fact that he plays in the weak ACC and his chances are pretty remote.

“The SEC has three nominees this season and we believe the winner WILL come out of that conference. It’s just a question of who the voters believe dominated the most during the course of the year, against the toughest competition."